What finally cleared up my plantar warts - it was a long long painful journey

in #health7 years ago

Firstly a disclaimer:  I am not a doctor nor a scientist, this is only my observation on what personally happened to me. Always seek medical advice prior to undertaking anything you read or hear. What works for one person may injure or kill another. 

()

 About 20 years ago I picked up plantar warts from a pubic swimming pool. They are nasty buggers which doctors tend to treat with liquid nitrogen. The problem is they are deep and your skin is tough.   

Ones foot ends up being burnt and you hobble around for the next few days. It is very unlikely that you will be relieved of the warts with the first treatment.  In my case it never did a bit of good. After years of treatments. The doctor finally exclaimed that all we were doing was torturing me. I certainly agreed that it seemed that way. 

 I tried to cut them out (DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS)… all I ended up doing was spread them around, and bleed a lot. It could have easily got infected, very poor judgement on my part.  I would then go on to try all sorts of less evasive things. Apparently duct tape works for some people, it did not for me. 

 I will spare you several more years of searching and tell you what finally worked for me. I stumbled on it quite by accident.   I had damaged my legs a bit and was prescribed pressure socks. Prescription strength so I had to be fitted and the whole 9 yards.  I had been prescribed the fabric sock type and found it and my profession did not mix.   

)

Fabric compression socks are not durable items which cannot take heat, tears and sparks very well. I went back to the doctors and showed him my shredded socks. Apparently it was funny to him as he laughed. Given the prices of these items it wasn’t very funny to myself. He did tell me there was a “Natural Rubber” version he could prescribe but it was heavier and didn’t breathe and was more expensive. I decided to go for it anyhow…. they were everything he said they were,.. yet they stood up much better. 

 After what I remember being a few months (sorry its been a decade now).  The Plantar warts that had dogged me for some 10 years started to dry up and eventually vanish.  After the prescribed time I stopped wearing them. As it turns out quite some time later I got another wart, out came those compression socks and that too eventually cleared up

  I now stay away from public pools and I haven’t had another Plantar wart… but if I do I am going to have to go get Natural Rubber compression socks again. (That pair has long been thrown away) 

That is my factually account, was it total coincidence? I don’t believe so, but being a rational thinker we must entertain that thought. 

PS: Always follow the directions for donning on such medical garments and especially cleaning!! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59079.50
ETH 2697.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50