Beef tallow: the animal fat that nourishes and repairs your skin

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys! I am very excited to write my first post here. I hope you find it useful and easy to read.

A few months ago, i have discovered the magic animal fat that is beef tallow and I have immediately fallen in love it!

Beef tallow is the rendered cooking fat made from from the fat a cow. It's very easy to make and if, like me, you know a butcher, you can probably get it for free.

USES AND BENEFITS OF BEEF TALLOW

  • it's very good to use for high heat cooking (like frying) because its structure remains stable under high heat, as opposed to some other fats such as olive oil.

  • it's full of vitamin D which is great for bones health and also a number of other vitamins that are wonderful for human health in general.

  • it's a satured fat which is actually good for your health and metabolism as stated by all recent studies.

  • it's amazing used as a lotion for your skin as it nourishes it deeply and also repairs thanks to its content in vitamins.

HOW TO MAKE BEEF TALLOW

It's actually very easy to make at home. It takes a few hours though.

  • You need to get the fat of the cow that surrounds the liver. Every butcher I know usually cuts it out from the liver and throws it away. What a waste! Ask your butcher to give to you. It's not as gross as it sounds, I promise! It's very solid looking/feeling and not that greasy.

  • Once you have that ball of fat, put it in the freezer, because it's easier to cut if it's cold.

  • Once it's cold, cut it in little pieces...or even better, throw it in your food processor and let it do the work for you!

  • Now you take your pieces of trimmed fat and put it to boil in a large pot at very low temperature.

  • Leave it for a few hours and you will see that the fat completely melts while some impurities will rise.

  • Now you need to strain it, possibly with a piece of fabric or cheesecloth.

  • Now put that liquid fat in a jar and keep it in the fridge or freeze it.

HOW TO MAKE A SUPER NOURISHING SKIN LOTION WITH BEEF TALLOW

Frankly, even though I love beef tallow for cooking meat (it gives it a super nice flavour) the best and most amazing way I consume tallow is...on my skin!

Yes, I have tried it on my face and was astonished by the results. Used as a night lotion, it gives your skin amazing nourishment and your face feels hydrated and relaxed after just one use.

I have dry skin and I have used all the lotions that you can imagine during my life but this is the first time I find something that feels completely nourishing without being oily.

Even more astonishingly, in a moment of desperation, i have tried to put some beef tallow lotion behind my three years old son's ear where he has had a little bruise that wouldn't heal since forever. Honestly, I don't know if it was some kind of eczema or what, but even the antibiotic lotion given by my pediatrician was not helping.

So I have put some of this tallow lotion on his skin and...wow! After not even a week the bruise was completely gone, the skin was like magically repaired and I knew after that that I had to share this remedy with the world!

MY BEEF TALLOW SKIN LOTION RECIPE

  • a jar of beef tallow in liquid form

  • a spoon of olive oil (to help with the texture of the tallow which is otherwise very hard)

  • a few drops of essential oil to give it some scent (I have used lavander which is also great for the skin)

Mix it up and there you have it! It's very hard at room temperature, especially now that it's cold. But you can scrape a little bit from the jar with a teaspoon and work it in your hand until it's a bit more creamy and easy to apply on your skin.

Amazing! You absolutely have to try this. I am currently putting it on a bad burn I have on my arm and it's actually helping a lot so I would definetely recommend it for healing burns as well.

I hope you enjoyed this little post. So go on, make your beef tallow and let me know if you love it as much as I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64381.21
ETH 3475.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50