Take Chances While You Have Time

in #health7 years ago

This is probably going to be a bit of a weird post coming from me, especially because I usually preach a more conservative lifestyle but I want to scale that back a bit and talk about taking chances. Im really not talking about money but rather taking chances in your every day life rather than wishing something would happen. They say that on someones deathbed they are more regretful of the things they didnt do than the things they did and I find myself resonating with that idea quite often.

In my high school and college years I often chose to not take chances and sat back and watched things happen. Im not a shy person at all, in fact im pretty outgoing but I can admit im a bit odd and I often have to grow on people before they actually like me. Im not the best looking guy, im tall which works for me, but I have never had the easiest time with women and often find there is a bit of a hole in my life in that department. It would be fine if it didnt bother me, but for some stupid reason it does.

What bothers me the most is the few relationships with girls that I did have and I didnt try to take it to another level. I knew there was a 99% chance it would have never worked out, but even for that 1% chance I think I should have tried. Im usually good at being level headed and giving great advice, but I often find it hard and struggle with using the advice for myself. I shouldnt care what other people think of me, especially girls, but I often do.

In many ways it is because I am still very young and in age I think people realize it is stupid to please everyone. I hope that point for me comes very soon but I dont think it will. I also somehow feel like im missing out on life by not taking these chances and doing something that has some emotional response within me every day. I know some of my friends feel this way working dead end jobs as well, but I am supposed to be in a position where I can take risks and chances, yet I find myself standing still.

I guess this post was more of a rant rather than a post with actual real meaning, but I dont want people out there to fall into the same trap I do. Even if you will look stupid try and do something that might make you feel uncomfortable but might also have a chance at making your life more fulfilling. Im trying to do the same and hopefully I will have some success doing it in the future. I dont want to be on my deathbed filled with regrets and at my current pace, thats what I feel will happen.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

I really like your post today. It’s kind a bit different than what you usually post, but it’s also refreshing. I belive in marriage till death do us apart. Of course this includes a lot of compromises, but that’s how we were created, that’s how I was raised. You mantioned that you are still young and that what bothers you the most is the few relationships with girls that you did have and You didn’t try to take it to another level. I think it’s all in our head. If we decide to be with this person no matter what, there is a 99% chance it will last.

Yeah its definitely in my head which is hard because I need to change it within which is the hardest thing to do .

It might be ranting to you, but it is an apt representation of what many young youths are going through. Always scared of taking risks, losing or being rejected.

I agree completely which is why I toss a lot of it up to youth, but hopefully I can move past it.

It’s easy for someone on their deathbed to say to take chances because it doesn’t matter for them soon anyway. You sound to be down on yourself. Looks are all opinion. I have blotches of hair missing and a eyebrow. I know how you feel. It’s a lot about personality.

long-married couples about what works and what doesn’t for a long and satisfying relationship, one simple and straightforward answer emerged again and again. It turns out that our elders believe there’s something close to a “magic bullet” when it comes to deciding in a relationship: “Should I stay or should I go?” And it all comes down to similarity.

@calaber24p I was meant to read this post today... was sitting on the fence about a certain issue... going to take the leap... thanks...

Thank you for that inspiring post. I took a chance and I'm currently in the middle of the free fall with my business, but hopefully, the parachute will open soon!

Great health post......
I like your post.....
Thanks for sharing.......

Beautiful scenery

I really like your post @calaber24p. I can feel and see your emotions here on this blog. I think that you are a great person since you were able express your honesty in this post. In life,we really need to take chances. We only live once,so even if we fall down and fail miserably with the choices that we make it doesnt matter at all as long as we chose it to happen. I am a risk taker, when I deciced to learn how to swim. I jumped right away from a cliff and dived. I was scared yes. But the feeling after taking chances are very meaningful. You can only understand the twists and turns of life if we learn how to gamble.

Yes, I can resonate welll with you. I was taught to be safe and be careful. But at my stage of life, I know how important it is to take chances and risks to be fulfilled and contented in life . Recently, I've developed the attitude " lose a few, win a few" and try to keep the numbers in balance as much as possible. I like your level headiness and your right on track with your mindset of taking risks. After all, we only have one life to live. Thanks for your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65