Keto and My 140lb Weight Loss

in #health7 years ago

Keto and weight loss - it seems to be a huge topic right now, trending with other fads.
But the unique thing about keto is the lengthy history and proven science behind the diet, and the long term positive benefits.

For me, the keto lifestyle has not been an easy journey - yet it has been far easier, yielding better results, than any other method I have tried. Part of the reason, I believe, is that following keto changed my mindset and perspective about food.

I have struggled with my weight for the entirety of my life, yo-yo'ing for well over a decade as a teen and young adult, until finding myself at 380lbs in my late 20s.
While I had always been serious about weight loss on some level, and had lost about 80lbs over several years, it took the birth of my only child and creeping post-partum weight gain to finally get my butt in gear.

I finally opted to try keto, not knowing what it would bring. The first time I tried, I suffered from keto flu, and struggled with how to make the lifestyle work in the face of processed, high carb conveniece foods at every turn. I lost about 25lbs then quit. Then I tried again a few months later, hiring a personal trainer, and focusing on changing my life - and the rest is history.

That was 2 years ago.

2017-08-03 13.22.17.jpg

Today, I am down a total of 140lbs from my all time high weight, and 95lbs of that in 2 years with keto. I have lost many more inches than I expected due to body recomposition, and am a smaller size at a higher weight than I was in the past. I still work out with my trainer, and incorporate HIIT, strength training, some crossfit moves, and moderate cardio.

I still have another 30lbs that I'd like to lose, and find myself on a long plateau, although I continue to gain strength and lose inches.

The most important pieces of advice I could give anyone are that you have to decide EVERY SINGLE DAY to do it, to get up and do whatever it takes to meet your goals; life will happen and keeping some flexibility will make the keto/low carb life sustainable, but don't start buying excuses.
I got to where I am because I stopped whining and started doing; nothing more, nothing less.

Sort:  

Congrats on the weight loss. I'm on keto myself and it's been going great.

glad to have you here bringing more awareness, amazing accomplishment and personal growth.

Well done. You have pulled down the tree, how much more cutting its branches? keep up, it won't be long before you get there. Very inspiring

Congratulations @ca16! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! Great job! I've been doing Keto and down 50 lbs myself! You look amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65557.61
ETH 3581.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47