My way of tracking Macro-nutrients. And why you should

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I'm going to show you my approach to tracking my macro-nutrients, Or "Macros for short". I'll also show you how to track yours and why you should.


Why should you track?

You may not see it immediately, but rather after some time, tracking your food will influence you to eat more beneficial foods. Each time you record a meal and you see the totals of what your intake is. You are less likely to over eat, Or binge on the junk food with empty calories. The simple act of tracking your food is very powerful in getting you to eat healthier.


My current goals

I consume whats known as a "Keto diet". Whats Keto you ask? If you don't know I would employ you to research it and see if you think it may be good for you.. I find it is a far more healthy way of eating than the current recommended "healthy balanced diets" that are so revered today. Keto can be very beneficial for many people.

Scientific studies show Keto or similar diets

  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Lowers triglyceride
  • Stabilize blood sugar
  • Improves overall cholesterol
  • Very effective for weight loss

I personally experience benefits of

  • More energy
  • Easier focus
  • Mood improvement
  • Clearer mind
  • Lower blood sugar
  • and Weight loss


Most individuals on a keto routine adhere to a particular percentage of macros – My personal goal Each day is
75% Fats 20% proteins 5% Carbs.
Tracking my food is a must if I'm going to meet this goal




Fat secret is the tool I use for tracking my Macros. They have a website and a mobile app to make it eaiser to access on the go. I find it the best and most simple to use. I have used others like my fitness pal and the like, But I feel fatsecret has the best user interface and simple solution for tracking.


Below is a screen shot of a single days entry into my food Diary. To enter a meal is very easy and doesn't take as much time as some of the other apps. You can save common foods that you eat, and make custom recipes. You can even connect with others on the same type of eating plan and share recipes.

Just above can see that It shows my daily calorie breakdown and how much of RDI is left for the day. All of which can be set to your personal preference.


Tracking Weight

Below is a screen shot of my weight history, the site also allows you to track and chart your weight loss progress towards your goal.

Don't wait!

Don't wait to start getting healthier, take a step today because life is short! Someone loves and looks up to you. Your already an example to someone. The question is are you a good example or a bad one? -Buzzard



If you feel my content worthy please think of supporting my blog, either with a tip or an up-vote.

1PYV3Btbq2SaDhWtJXVrcTgwTDYSPX2Pif

0xD358B69a6F2e5D1ad222cbFE4f4B0Ed4e331f53D



THANKS FOR YOUR TIME, HAVE A BLESSED DAY!
“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” 3 John 1:2 (NIV)

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your story! When I started on my keto journey, I used to count macros and calories in everything that I ate. I have to admit, I find the process tedious and I ended up just relying on not eating any grains, fruits, breads, starches, or sugary foods. My weight continues to go down and I definitely feel healthy. My Energy levels and stamina feel stronger everyday! This helps me have energy to exercise (even after a long day at the office) and continue to burn more calories while keeping the diet going.

Good luck on your diet and reaching your goal. It appears you are well on your way! Cheers

thanks for your comment.. Yes I fed up with tracking and got away from it for a bit.. But I stalled out so i'm going back to it..

Good for you for switching to keto.
If you think about it in the 1950s the average american consumed 30% of their dietary intake from carbohydrates.
Today its around 70% and eating 30% is considered "low-carb"

Thanks for your comment. You totally correct, carb and sugar intake has been on the rise right along side of processed foods.

This post has received a 6.15 % upvote from @boomerang.

I succeeded to lose weight eating everything but sugar, salt and flour.
Thanks for your article.

Sugar and Flour is the most problem for my weight gain by far.

Awesome, the publication left me speechless, very well explained and applicable, I really liked it a lot.

great post, you seem educated in what you do - thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56