Protein Powders and Shakes : All you need to know !

in #health7 years ago

Hello Steemers, This article is not copy pasted from anywhere and I am writing it on my own through my own experience and research on this topic. This is my first article in the fitness series and I will be posting many more on fitness and nutrition in the days to come.

Many of my friends working out often ask me if it's necessary to take protein powders to get good body.
To them my only answer is - If your diet intake can cover your protein requirement which I will discuss below, then it's fine not to take otherwise you should take protein without giving a second thought to get good results from your workout. I hope you would enjoy reading it and found it helpful.

How much protein is required by a person working out daily ?

To calculate that get your weight in Kgs than the protein requirement for your body will be double of that. Eg.if you weight 75kgs than you should ideally take around 150gms of protein daily.
While we work out our muscles break and for new muscle regeneration this much protein is essential.

How to calculate amount of protein we are taking daily
Calculating that is pretty simple. Starting from breakfast till dinner, look for the amount of protein in each diet you are taking. To get those values you can either google them up or can use the Apps like myFitnessPal which you can download on your smartphone.
Ideally non vegetarians will find their protein requirement almost getting met but the problem really arises for vegetarians as even though there are high protein diets for vegetarians likes pulses or soy but consuming them in such high quantity is not at all proves sensible. So first of all calculate your daily protein intake, and then move below..You can put that value in comments section so that you can actually know how far inside water you actually are and how much you need to work upon. Also I would personally be replying back to discuss and suggest how you can meet your protein requirement.

Are Protein Powders safe
I know if you have been reading till now this is one question that might be going in your mind since beginning. To answer it I would assure you that Protein powder is 101% safe to take. Only thing you need to ensure is that you take a good quality and genuine product. Its the same protein that will get transformed inside your body when you take some protein rich diet. Imagine how difficult it might be for someone to eat 10 egg whites to get those 25g of Protein which you can so easily get with just one scoop of Protein powder.

Secondly protein powders have no side effects if you have heard of some. Those are shear myths and nothing else. If you don't believe me right now, ask anyone close to you who you think have even little bit knowledge of nutrition and he will tell you how safe Protein powders are. Like getting protein from the chicken is not going to harm your body, similarly taking that Protein in the form of powder is not going to harm your body.

Why Whey Protein Powder is the best ?


The protein we take from different diets is differentiated on the basis of speed that Protein is absorbed inside our body. Eg.Protein from milk is more slowly absorbed in the body than the protein from eggs which are slower in comparison to protein from Whey. For the healthy body and muscle building we should try to include all different types of Proteins so if a thought arises that why don't I complete all my Protein requirement through Protein shakes than just remember your mind is not going in the right direction.

It would not be strange, more doubts arising in your mind pertaining to the use of Protein shakes. Please share them in comments I would love to answer them in the comments or maybe in my next article.

I would really appreciate an upvote if you found it helpful. Also as I said, I will be posting more articles on fitness and nutrition in the coming days so you can follow me @bunny26 to stay updated.

Sort:  

This post needs more love! Thanks for sharing this! I was considering to add them into my diet!

Thanks @steemityourway..It is actually comments like this which will motivate me to write more such articles here..Thanks again for your love..:)
I too loved your post u shared about health coach ..You can see it on my wall too 😉..Share more such posts and I would love to resteem ☺️

That's really nice of you!💗💗 you should definetly do it because I will read them without any doubt! Thanks and keep up the great work! Xoxo

Congratulations @bunny26! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for writing this,

As a bodybuilder for the last 30 years, and one who loves protein shakes, people need to realize that protein shakes are just a convenient way to take in more protein.

Without all the excess calories and fat found in so whole food sources of protein like beef--not too mention the prep time!

Plus they are super easy, especially the brands today--and thank you for putting up a picture of ON protein--as this is one of my favorite brands, you cannot go wrong with ON protein.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87