Workplace Bullying - Break the Silence

in #health6 years ago

A friend sent me a picture of the front of the NT newspaper stating that there had been yet another death on the Oil & Gas Project where I worked for 3.5 years.

I was deeply saddened but not shocked:
The total cost of depression to Australian employers due to presentism and absenteeism is estimated to be approximately $6.3 billion per annum – Safe Work Australia.

Fighting hard for men and woman’s mental health was part of me during my time on the Project. I created my own position within the company, as the Culture Coordinator and I was referred to as ‘The face of the company’.

On the outside, I was successful, happy and the passionate driving force for change in mental health stigma. Behind the scenes, it was a very different story. Toxic leadership and narcissist management subjected me to extensive workplace bullying for more than 2 years.

But I stayed on… I could not deal with guilt if one of the workforce I championed hard for lost their life to suicide due to the lack of support from Human Resources.

My bully was, in fact, the HR/IR manager and I was bullied for two reasons:

  1. I was a woman
  2. I fought hard for equality and freedom of speech

Why am I speaking up now?

It’s time for a change. Workplace bullying is REAL and it’s not a small ‘dark corner’ either.

Reaching out to the many amazing leaders and change makers I met during my time in the OIL & GAS industry – Break the Silence!

Condolences to the family of the mentioned above.
#breakstigma #breakthesilence #bullyology

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56