The Cold Shower Test | Day 4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

This is my 4th day of only taking cold showers and seeing how my body reacts to this.


1487034290584.jpg

I have been doing a lot of studying in regards to depression, because we all get stricken with that bug occasionally. My diet has been somewhat off, and stressors are just ridiculous, so I figured I needed to change one part of my daily life to feel on track again. The Chinese do not believe in cold on or inside the body, at least cold at near sub zero levels. They believe that heat is the key to releasing toxins of all sorts and releasing all the bad being held (in the body, mind, and spirit). I am a firm believer in lot of Chinese medicine values, trigger points and methods of stress relief being my main motivation....but for the experiment I must embrace both hot and cold to heal myself.


5e4b655623e7c115fc5e2204744d3525.gif

The hardest part of taking a cold shower or bath is doing it, so waste no time if you are worried. I have come to embrace the cold, so I take my shower whenever I want, as long as it is once a day. They say the immense cold boosts the immune system as it forces the body to heat up in any way it can, it is also an immense calorie and metabolism booster. It is always good to keep the body cooled as we are organic machines running off thermogenics. I will keep taking these cold showers forever most likely, I do feel my sinuses have cleared up greatly and I am no longer effected by cold nights. My body maintains a warmth all day that I have never had before...it is quite interesting. Check in again soon, ciao.


Source Image Credits: 1 2


Sort:  

Have you heard of "dry brushing". I recommend doing this before taking your cold showers. Very good for detoxing and stimulating blood flow!

I hadn't but I will definitely look into that, ty.

If you have long hair, its supposedly a good idea to wash your hair with hot/warm water and then blast it with cold when you are finished to close the cuticle and help the hair protect itself.

I might try that!

Great!! I also started taking cold showers this summer. Still not used to it tho. A bit if advice: when u turn the cold water on, go right into showering. Dont sit there hesitating like 'man this is gonna be super cold, this sucks blah blah.' Just get in and get out

I am with you man, just get that shit over with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67202.29
ETH 2597.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66