Madonna's Continuing Battle With Cancer

in #health8 years ago

This is part two of my cousin-in-law Madonna’s cancer challenge and journey. Remember in part one, she was going for surgery on October 4th . The surgery was successful. The lump that had been discovered in her breast was removed, a long with some lymph nodes. Her surgeon assured her that after tests, they had gotten all of the cancerous cells. Now, to make sure, Madonna will have to undergo a year of additional treatment.

Boston, Massachusetts, October, 2016
In her own words here is how she is relating to the continuing treatment scenario .I've appreciated all the wonderful comments about my new pixie cut. It seemed a bit impulsive to go the way of Joan of Arc in shortness but I'm glad I did so that the shock of maybe having no hair won't be so shocking.

While I have a fairly upbeat attitude overall, it's not to say I don't start slipping into the rabbit hole...wondering...what's this journey really going to be like.

A dear friend of mine Penna Rose once said "Keep your low beams on". It's a great metaphor for this particular journey.

When my high beams are on (and no bulb burned out, skewing the light) I begin to see too far ahead… and the sinking feeling starts to descend on me. The stages: 1. cut, 2: poison and 3. burn and a kicker of more poison lasting until November of 2017! I don't even have a 2017 calendar yet!

When I keep my low-beams on, I see just enough, I drive slowly, I don't get as overwhelmed, I take one step at a time, slow and steady. Stage #1 Cut...completed! #2. Tuesday 10/18 be at DFCI (the treatment facility) for first appointment @ 8:10 am treatment to start around10:00 am. No additional information given by the hospital or needed by me. It's just another small step...low beams baby!

I know the date is coming up fast, the calls from the DFCI keep coming, "You need additional blood work before the 18th." So I go and get it done. A follow up from the DFCI nurse "what time did you have your labs taken...I'll follow up." So that's off my plate.

Still a Lot on My Plate

What I find is that there's still a LOT on my plate...committees that I haven't totally extricated myself from. Church committees, micro loan initiatives for my church, etc. I also find I'm in a race to get my granddaughter's birthday present to her weeks before her birthday. I'm never that organized. Things like getting a car inspected become fixations for me. While I know that others could help...it is one small bit of choice I have and it makes me feel good to write down a to-do list of ordinary things and accomplish them. All too much is out of my control and will continue to be as my life has changed.

I have been reading books that friends think will help, I've started with a nutritionist that another friend believes will help me immensely, I have made lists of friends who will help at a moment's notice and above all, I've taken to heart the stories of other women, and husbands of women who have had breast cancer and are survivors. They are not a cheering squad, but a realistic view of the fears and joys and worries that they have had. These stories sustain me. The firsthand view of what to expect is priceless since I know we will all share a common thread no matter what type of cancer we have or had.

So thank you dear friends and family... I'm driving slowly and with my low beams on for the next year...I'll change bulbs as necessary.
Beep-Beep!

So there, you have it, Madonna’s story of how she is optimistically coping with her cancer challenge. Hopefully her courage and her Yankee determination will inspire others facing the same challenge to move forward in their lives with her optimism, her faith, and her “one-day-at-a-time” attitude.

Stay tuned, we will keep you informed of how she continues to wage her heroic battle. Until next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94