WHY THE MAYANS USED THIS SUPERFOOD FOR ENERGY DURING BATTLE!

in #health7 years ago

Hey there Steemians :)

Today I wanted to write a post about one of the most popular and my personal hands down favorite superfood - CHIA SEEDS!
If you have checked out my posts so far you will notice that I add chia seeds to all of my smoothie blends! It is one ingredient that I never leave out of my morning blends, but I also add it to my water, yogurts, and sometimes I grind it up in my vitamix and add it to my pasta, breads, pancakes, and even muffins. Because of its neutral taste, chia seeds can be added to pretty much any and everything. If you don’t know much about these awesome little seeds, you are probably wondering why I am so obsessed with them...here is why!

CHIA SEEDS ARE PACKED AND LOADED WITH TONS OF NUTRITIONAL VALUE!

They come from a plant called Salvia Hispanica, and are grown in Mexico, dating back to the Mayan and Aztecs. The name “Chia” means “strength” in Mayan. They would use these seeds to give them energy and endurance during battle or running distances. Back then these seeds were valued for their fuel boosting power but as they have become a staple in the health community, chia seeds have been found to have tons and tons of benefits for our system!

CHIA SEEDS BENEFITS:

Because they are so rich in antioxidants they are great for the SKIN repair system and preventing skin aging damage.

Packed with Omega 3-s, chia seeds can reverse and reduce cholesterol, blood pressure and inflammation, making it a great aid for overall heart health.

Chia seeds are high in fiber and are great for digestive health!

They are a huge metabolism and energy booster!

They have a great amount of calcium which helps strengthen bones and muscles!

Chia seeds are a huge source of plant based protein, making it great for gaining lean muscle and fat burning.

Chia seeds are a cancer-fighting food and can help prevent cervical & breast cancer because of its omega 3-s!

THIS SUPERFOOD IS FILLED WITH PROTEIN, MINERALS, ANTIOXIDANTS, FIBER AND VITAMINS THAT WE NEED ON A REGULAR BASIS FOR OVERALL HEALTH! LIKE I SAID, THEY ARE SUPER EASY TO INCORPORATE INTO YOUR DIET BECAUSE OF THEIR NEUTRAL FLAVOR!

My FAVORITE brand to buy is THRIVE MARKET because it is all organic, non-GMO, kosher, vegan, and sugar free! You can pick it up at Whole Foods or purchase online!

I hope you guys enjoyed reading and pick up some chia to add to your daily meal routine! I promise you will love it. Thanks for checking out my post & stay tuned for more :)

Sort:  

I certainly don't mind chia seeds and a lot of my protein shakes have started including them into the mix because of the benefits that you state above. I only dislike how easily they seem to get stuck in my teeth! :-)

I agree lol I hate how they get stuck on my sponge if I am washing my dishes that have them on it! But yes they are amazing to add to protein shakes. I have gotten my whole family adding them to their meals and its becoming a favorite of theirs too!

Yeah, I might just have to eat a spoonful, as long as I don't inhale them by accident!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64