You Can Grow Shiitake Musrooms

in #health6 years ago

You Can Grow Shiitake Mushrooms

C46FD7A7-86AF-4BF3-964B-5DA15B8DE64D.jpeg

See the baby Shiitake Mushrooms growing out of that log I inoculated with spawn?

I want to show you how I did that in my back yard for about a hour of time invested. The mushroom logs I made will produce free mushrooms for 1,2, maybe even 3 years.

This is not going to be a detailed tutorial about growing mushrooms. That’s a fascinating subject. If you want to study it more look for books by Paul Stamets.

My intention here is to demonstrate how doable growing gourmet mushrooms at home is for almost anyone.

You will have to order Shiitake mushroom spawn. I get my supplies from Fungi Perfecti. I use plug spawn. These are sterile spiral cut dowels inoculated with Shiitake spawn. There are other ways to inoculate the logs, but I like to use the plugs.

Here’s s closeup picture of what it looks like.

21716E54-67BE-4170-AE82-382A2480906A.jpeg

Now you need some fresh, green Oak logs. Ideally you want logs cut in the Spring when the sap is rising. This increases the sugar content in the wood. More sugar means more mushrooms quicker.

I had a friend who was cutting down some trees. I asked. He gave me the Oak logs I needed for free.

Here’s a picture of the logs to give some idea of the size. The logs should be 3 to 4 feet long and up to 8 inches in diameter. These were actually a bit bigger in diameter than ideal. The smaller logs are easier to handle.

You want to make sure to use new logs with the bark firmly attached. When the mycelium is growing into the wood, the bark protects it. The mushrooms will grow out through cracks in the bark.

Use a wire brush to clean any moss or dirt off the logs. This will lessen the chance of competition for the new mushroom babies.

Once you have the logs and plug spawn, it’s time to plant your mushrooms. Use a 5/16 inch drill to make holes 1 1/4 inches deep. Evenly space the holes in the log. You can get 50 or more holes in a 4 foot log.

In the next photo, I am drilling the holes. I put a piece of tape around the drill bit to mark the 1 1/4 inch depth.

269BF6A9-5207-4926-AC1D-FC621DF482BD.jpeg

When all the holes are drilled in the log, it’s inoculation time.

Put a plug in the hole and smack it with a hammer. That’s all there is to it.

D4CF9C84-0725-41CA-A4F1-2FE386B067A3.jpeg

Here’s a better look at one of the plugs just before the final blow. The top of the plug should be flush with the log.

59AC616A-DB22-4C39-9123-6EAA6EEB206C.jpeg

When all the plugs are in, seal the hole with some melted wax. Although not absolutely necessary, it will protect the plugs from the outside world while the mycelium is multiplying into the wood.


Here I am using a brush, and melted wax to seal the plug in the hole.

At this point you are done except for the waiting. Under the right conditions the logs will start fruiting, that’s growing mushrooms in about six months. If conditions are not so good it could take a year before you get mushrooms.

Put the logs in a shady spot. You can even cover them with burlap or something similar. No plastic. You want mushrooms not mold.

Have some patience and soon enough you will get your mushroom reward.

Good eating! Enjoy!

Remember... learn some self reliance. And vote with your dollars.

_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for taking the time to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for doing that.

Read more of my stuff @beyondordinary

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

It looks like its definitely a long term plan...

Mushrooms are something I want to try growing at the homestead at some point.

We don't have a lot of oak around here. Are there other hard woods that can be used for shiitake?

Alder, ash, beech, chestnut, eucalyptus, oak, hickory, and sweet gum are the hardwoods recommended for shiitake.

Thanks, good to know. It's so cold here I don't think any of those are native trees here but I do know some Oaks will grow if I plant them.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beyondordinary to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice. This is definitely something I have wanted to try. So much to do, so little time. I don't get bored either. You?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89