Time to Plant Garlic

in #health7 years ago

Time to Plant Garlic

FA0B751A-371D-43B9-A03E-EB8C7031AE49.jpeg

Winter is coming to my part of New York. That means it’s time to plant the garlic that will be harvested next July.

Garlic is one of the easiest things you can grow in your garden. But did you know, 50% of the garlic consumed in the US comes from China. California used to supply US garlic. That industry isn’t what it used to be, thanks to cheap imports.

There are many stories about Chinese garlic and you can read about it here.

I don’t want to get into the details about imported garlic and why you shouldn’t eat it. The article is about growing your own healthy supply. It’s better to take positive actions than to whine and complain about the status quo. As with everything else, vote with your dollars.

Here’s a picture of my garlic planting bed.

F6766B3A-935A-49A6-876A-C45A12CC4501.jpeg

I’ve removed all the weeds and top dressed with a couple of inches of screened compost. (You do make your own compost, right?)

I practice no dig gardening. It’s better for the soil and everything that lives in it. Digging destroys the soil structure. Besides, I’m getting older and digging is hard work.

Another benefit of no dig is, fewer weeds. Every time you turn the soil you bring hundreds, maybe thousands of weed seeds to the surface. Once at the surface, they germinate and grow, making more work for you.

If you want to learn more about No Dig Gardening here’s an expert, Charles Dowding

When the soil is ready, grab your garlic. Here’s some of the garlic I planted last year and harvested this summer.

73B7238E-9BBB-46E1-8AB6-483B492A7C2A.jpeg

This garlic has been hanging around drying in the garage. This variety is a hardneck garlic. Hardneck garlic is hardy in my climate zone. Pick the biggest and best garlic bulbs for your planting stock.

Break the garlic bulb apart into individual cloves. Each bulb will have 5 to 8 cloves.

311F29E5-C274-41C9-A1E6-363E2C88441A.jpeg

Now it’s time to plant the garlic cloves. I plant them about 3 to 4 inches deep. When planted deep, the squirrels don’t dig them up and the freeze/thaw cycles doesn’t heave them out of the ground.

For the larger bulbed garlic, like this variety, I put them 6 inches apart.

E70621C2-D6CE-4607-AEA8-098A6FB5187C.jpeg

After the garlic is planted, I tamp the soil lightly over them. I like to add a couple inches of chopped leaves as mulch too.

Now all that’s required is waiting. If the winter is mild, I may begin to see green sprouts during February thaws. As the garlic grows keep it weed free and give it enough water.

When the lower leaves begin to yellow and dry, it’s time to dig the garlic. That’s sometime in early to mid July for me.

Enjoy! And repeat in the Fall, for a never ending supply of home grown, organic, delicious garlic.

_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for taking the time to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for doing that.

Read more of my stuff @beyondordinary

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

What a great Post. I am planting garlic this week as well. Hopefully the snow holds off. I am about 3 hours north of NY. Thank you for sharing

Good luck with the snow. I see the forecast has some snow north of us.

Thanks for checking out my post.

Great post. I had a big garden before and I loved to spend time in it.

I can’t wait to grow my own garlic! I never knew it was this doable. I’m wondering how cold is too cold? I would really like to plant some.

If the ground isn’t frozen, you can plant garlic. I have planted mine into November. Planting early in the Spring is an option. Good luck and good growing!

Thank you! I am very excited about it. One more question, do I just buy organic garlic to get started?

If you can find a local grower, you should be able to get a variety that will grow for you. If you live where it gets cold, you want a hardneck variety. Hardneck means there is a stem that goes down through the center of the bulb. Almost all of the garlic in the stores around me are the less hardy soft neck types.

Check with gardening friends, farmers markets, or garden supply stores to see what you can find.

Good luck and happy growing!

We are too late for garlic in our area this year, but we hope to get some in the ground next year! Thanks for sharing your tips!

Sometime if the weather cooperates you can plant it in the Spring.

Congratulations @beyondordinary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I live in NY and planted my garlic last week. I didn't plant it as deep as you did. I hope it will still be deep enough.

You’ll be good. If it’s stays warm it will get good roots. That helps with frost heaving.

Thanks! I appreciate your checking out my post.

good post
pls my post comment & follow me @anisullah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64664.97
ETH 3401.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31