You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More mass for your gym gains

in #health7 years ago

This seems like good, basic info for anyone that has spent any time in a gym/ But here's the deal; I'm a lot older than you AND FEMALE.. I can modify the sets and weights to what I can handle, therefore I'm interested in more of your tips and routines. My biggest question is 'how old is too old. I'm not interested in bulk, just tone. I do get hit on by men half my age ...so having a sense of humor goes a long ways coupled with common intellectual thinking...but what happens when I take off my clothes? YIKES!! OK, I'll follow and resteem you just to see what kind of commitment you're willing to make here...the more the merrier, right?

Sort:  

The more IS merrier :) I will work on another post of what I do as a routine for the gym time I have and I might include a bit of my diet in the same post or a seperate one, depending on how long it ends up being. The routine I have is mostly like what Rich Piana has on YouTube with some modifications I made from Arnolds advice. Right now I do the modified program,mostly to lose weight. And once I get down to where I want to be, then I'll hit the weights harder to bulk up. But in the meantime I lost 10 pounds of fat and replaced some of that weight with muscle. But I couldn't have done as well if it wasn't for the keto diet. The answer to your question is you can never be too old for lifting. Remember there are two kinds of pain when lifting weights. One kind is your body saying I don't like this and you need to stop RIGHT NOW. That's when injuries can happen. The other kind of pain is the good kind, when you get that sore feeling in your muscles either after the workout or sometime the next day. That's from tearing muscle fiber and making room for new muscle fiber to grow. And remember to eat enough proteins and certain carbs (like oats and sweet potato) so you can feed your body the needed building blocks it needs to make the new muscle you worked so hard to get toned up and for the what new muscle you might get. Thanks Bella for the comments and the follow and I will do the same for you my friend.

Gunner do you use the Cronometer to input and track your foods, etc/. not to mention calculation of percentages. I'm not sure I could keep up daily keto diet without that free app. Ten pounds is great...what is your loss goal? I take lots of supplements but I just got Creatine HCL for workouts; thus far my workouts haven't been stressful enough to justify its use...just wondering how popular it is. I'll look at the Rich Piana vid for ideas....many thanks.

I dont use anything to keep track of what i eat really. All I really keep track of is my carb, fat and protein intake. I really should try to figure out how much protein is too much so I wont end up turning the excess protein into stored fat and carbs. I'm at 163 lbs. and just under 35% body fat when I checked last a few weeks ago and Im trying to get down to about 15 percent body fat. But I'm not sure what my goal weight will be because I will eventually try to get some muscle mass on too and the extra muscle will keep my weight up even though Im losing fat. I could end up being in the 140's to the 150's I guess. Im a shorter guy so that weight area would be ok and be happy with what Im trying to do. Creatine is popular with bodybuilders. Back in the 60's and 70's when Arnold Schwarzenegger and Lou Ferrigno was starting to compete and lifting, they didnt have creatine and protein in a bottle along with most any supplements like we have now so they had to rely on eating steaks and all kinds of meat and other food often. The only real source for the building blocks of making all that muscle they had, had to come from the food they ate. So supplements are really meant to help you get what you already are not able to get from food alone, and not meant to replace food itself. You would be surprised at how many people dont realize that. Creatine as far as I know is mostly used for helping muscle build when you are creating new muscle fiber and it retains water and whatever extra creatine you have inside of you in the muscle as a reserve for when you go to work the muscle again and build more of it, it has something there readily available to use right away. I hope this helps you out some.

I copied the following from one of Dr. Mercola's pages and I use these percentages as a daily guide. His Cronometer does the calculations automatically. All I do is weigh my food and enter it. It's a bit tedious, but satisfying. A girl friend or anyone could do it for you in their spare time.

Standard Ketogenic Diet (SKD)

SKD is the type I typically recommend for most people, because it is very effective. It focuses on high consumption of healthy fats (70 percent of your diet), moderate protein (25 percent) and very little carbohydrates (5 percent).5

Keep in mind that there’s no set limit to the fat, because energy requirements vary from person to person, depending on their daily physical activities.

However, majority of your calories still need to come from fats, and you still need to limit your consumption of carbohydrates and protein for it to become a standard ketogenic diet.

I use 15 -25% protein as daily target
65- 85% fat
5-15% carbs
I think I'm just under 20% body fat 5'9"

I looked up Rich...ee gads; not very attractive RIP.
SEEMS HE REALLY ABUSED his body!!

Thanks for info on Creatine...interesting.

I think he didnt look as good as some lifter but better than others. But I think what killed him was from all the prescription enhancements and other stuff like HGH, and then going to steroids, and then to who knows what else over the years and then all the side effects finally caught up to him. And thank you for the keto stuff in your other comments here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58