How can not getting enough sleep affect me?

in #health5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

Sleep is very important to handle body metabolism. I always that "All body related problems are healed by sleep and all mind related problems are healed by time." The wear and tear of the body throughout the day are healed only with a good sleep. Our body is capable of asking for rest whenever it requires. The indication is shown in the form of drowsiness. If we continue to work beyond that, the body will be hurt and it will reach a state where it becomes difficult to even heal during sleep. That is when people are affected by diseases.

A good night sleep

Sleep is not just sleeping at any time. A good night sleep is crucial for the body to stay active throughout the day. We are all social beings and we interact with so many people every day and we gain lots of experiences and knowledge every day. Along with that, we are also exposed to lots of physical activities that will consume our energy. During the daytime, if we are very active we will be able to spend the night time with proper sleep.



Our activities are somewhat dependent on the presence of the Sun as the primary source of energy. It is either us taking the source of energy directly from the Sun or the food that we consume takes the energy source from the Sun. So, directly or indirectly we are dependent on the Sun for our energy. In that case, we should also be active when the Sun is available and rest when the Sun is not there. For places in the world where the sun is not completely available, the case is an exception. So for an ideal human being sleeping during the night time and waking up early morning is the best practice.

Harmful effects of Sleeplessness

Even though we try to be very active without proper sleep, it is practically not possible. A study says that a person may be able to survive a few days without food but it is quite challenging to survive without sleep. Our body will automatically ask for rest if we have been doing heavy physical work throughout the day. Sleeplessness can also bring other complications like hatred towards food. As the body is expecting sleep, it will not be ready for digestion activity. It becomes quite challenging to digest food with restlessness.



If Sleeplessness is practised continuously, there is a high possibility that your body can get used to it and getting ordinary sleep itself can be really challenging. People usually think that they can induce sleep with the help of sleeping pills. That will definitely have harmful effects on the body. Over a course, if period the body will gradually forget how to sleep and it will always need a factor or external induction to sleep normally.

Personal experience from sleeplessness

During my college days I used to skip sleeping a lot. I either spend most of my time playing games or chatting with friends. I, however, get some disturbed sleep after going to college but it was definitely not enough. I ran into so many health issues. I would like to highlight few below:

- Instability in body temperature: I used to have high instability in my body temperature constituting to hatred towards food. It also affected mentally creating lots of frustration towards everything. The other effects that I'm going to be listed below are also related to this instability in body temperature.

- Heat boils in my face: During my school days o used to have a clear face but after college, I started getting lots of heat boils in my face and some parts of the body. This is not pimples because it is quite obvious to get pimples during that age. But the heat boils we're kind of different from pimples.

- Always drowsy: I was finding it really hard to focus on my studies and pay attention to my classes in college. I always had the drowsiness in my eyes. I even sleep regularly during the class hours.

- Running Nose: I always had this running nose 24/7 and 365 days. I tried to take medicines and it was never controlled. Those days I used to wonder what the actual problem was.

- Hatred towards food: I was unable to eat the food I desire. Since I had running nose throughout the day, I will not be able to taste the food properly. This created a hatred towards food and I was also getting weak.

Having all the above symptoms I somehow completed my college life and later when I started working, I was so tired every day that I had to sleep regularly and properly to be able to work the next day. This is when I experimented everything and realized that all the health problems that I had were because of sleeplessness. And most of it was also because I did not get a proper night sleep. You will not believe that my running nose problem was completely eradicated after I started sleeping properly. After proper sleep, I started feeling really fresh and energetic. I also gradually developed an interest in healthy food.

Today I don't compromise my sleep for anything. I also realized that night shift jobs are not my thing at all. I try to sleep early and rise early. This gives me a feeling that I'm able to achieve lot more in my life than before.

  Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

so right you are. we should not forego sleep.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Thank you. I have started following @wafrica. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99