You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Buddhist 10 Fold Path

in #health6 years ago

Yes, yes I can 8-)

I was a 13 year old redneck Florida Cracker living on the streets and eating out of trash cans when I just kept staying overnight at the Baba Sri Chand Ashram until they started feeding me and teaching me. They also shared space with a Judo and Shiatsu instructor who introduced me to Buddhism and was the only serious instruction I ever had. I guess I just assumed that I knew enough since my life got better.

I could not take seriously the effete and ignorant "counselors" who bastardized it into "mindfulness" in the 80s. So I never really looked at it further. I probably should now that the Internet exists.

Sort:  

Wow you had a rough childhood too. I know so many people who found help through Ashrams or Buddhist centers. I've heard so many people's stories about detoxing during retreat. Something that I wouldn't do and I won't promote. It's hard on the centers, most won't let anyone in if they have addictions or mental problems.

And then I know so many people who have been abused by bad teachers as well. I think it's all about one's Karma how they experience the dharma. I think you have really good karma @baerdric!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44