You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Buddhist 10 Fold Path

in #health6 years ago

I've really been out of touch. I haven't heard true discussions of Buddhism in personal behavior since 1972. A little bit of intellectual "life coach" hogwash here and there, but not the basic truth that we trend towards unenlightened lives and will not have enlightened lives without practice. Thanks.

Sort:  

Can you imagine me a redneck hillbilly from rural Oregon knocking at a Korean Zen temples door and asking for teachings? I was so scared I grew up in a Christian community and had not known any other cultures and I was 30 years old.

My life was so miserable and I knew my choices were causing my misery but I didn't know how to break away from my negative conditioning. Breaking the knots of trauma (PTSD) from childhood abuse and living in a really screwed up society.

I found out about Buddhism when I read a book about religions from my public library. Since everything I had tried including therapy, antidepressant medication for panic attacks, and self help books didn't help me I decided to give the Dhamma a try. I had to ask 3 times and no monks spoke English except Sunim who moved to the Zen Center 2 weeks prior to me knocking at his door!

These post are made in gratitude to my awesome teachers.

Yes, yes I can 8-)

I was a 13 year old redneck Florida Cracker living on the streets and eating out of trash cans when I just kept staying overnight at the Baba Sri Chand Ashram until they started feeding me and teaching me. They also shared space with a Judo and Shiatsu instructor who introduced me to Buddhism and was the only serious instruction I ever had. I guess I just assumed that I knew enough since my life got better.

I could not take seriously the effete and ignorant "counselors" who bastardized it into "mindfulness" in the 80s. So I never really looked at it further. I probably should now that the Internet exists.

Wow you had a rough childhood too. I know so many people who found help through Ashrams or Buddhist centers. I've heard so many people's stories about detoxing during retreat. Something that I wouldn't do and I won't promote. It's hard on the centers, most won't let anyone in if they have addictions or mental problems.

And then I know so many people who have been abused by bad teachers as well. I think it's all about one's Karma how they experience the dharma. I think you have really good karma @baerdric!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45