Why You Consider Eating Fruit Peel and What Are The Benefits

in #health7 years ago

A lot of us eat fruits without the peel because we grow up that we should remove the skin or peel of the fruits before we eat it. Like banana, pineapple etc. Well guess what, you might have been throwing away some valuable nutrients! If you juice or make a smoothie from fruita you'll get 90% of it's nutrition.

A lot of fruits are can be eaten with peel just like, Lemon, apple, orange etc. If you're going to juice or make a smoothie, you have to make your fruits frozen and grate it with the peel.

U5dqo2qDCHMdmMdHJqb2tz41zxyJFLe_1680x8400.jpg
Img source

Here are some fruits that you should consider eating the peels

Apple The skin of an apple contains about half of the apple's overall dietary fiber content. It will helps us form blood clots that patch you up when you have a bad scrape and helps activate the proteins your body needs for cell growth and healthy bone maintenance.

Orange The peel of an orange packs in twice as much vitamin C as what's inside. The peel's flavonoids have anti-cancer and anti-inflammatory properties.

Potato. A potato's skin packs more nutrients iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium, vitamin B6 and vitamin C ounce-for-ounce than the rest of the potato

Eggplant Eggplant skin is also rich in chlorogenic acid, a phytochemical that boasts antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties, and also promotes glucose tolerance.

If you wanna be more creative you can look on google what other types of thing you can use for fruit peels.


Thanks for passing by guys!
follow me and upvote
steem-00c98f851cd2a927f324ac3e851b3690.png

Sort:  

My mom years ago told us not to peel a lot of fruits or vegetables because of the vitamins and the benefits from them ! So I was raised that way !

I heard about that too...Also heard how skin peels were healthy for your skin.

This is good information, though I've never actually considered eating an oranges peel and find it hard to imagine, but I will try one day :p Btw, anyone here loves eggplant, I'm absolutely in love with it and find it a great compliment to rice. Surprisingly when I was younger I used to HATE eggplant.

I'm also eggplant lover. 🙌
I can live forever just by eatih eggplant 😀
and i'll turn purple

Good information..one more thing added in my GK👍🏻👍🏻😁😁

Thank you! :)

Peel contains a lot of valuable nutrients so it should not be thrown away. Nice article.

What about the cucumber peel. I know that in some countries they eat it but in Mexico is not common because the peel is harder would you still recommend it?! Oh by the way a taco with potato peel is a great recipe! We eat it very often :)

Yeah, cucumber too. It holds most of its vitamin K

I love the shocked look on peoples face when you bite straight into a mango skin and all. Kiwi fruits too, something about that hairy skin really puts people off but it's not too bad, and definitely nutritious.

I can't bring myself to eat the skin of an orange, or any citrus fruit for that matter.

Hahaha, well i cant imagine myself eating kiwi peel i just think it's kinda creepy cos of the hair

Good thing even as a child, i eat native freshly picked fruits with their peels.

Great post! I love peels!

Wish I could leave the peel on, but I have this (illogical?) fear the most pesticides/contaminants, are in the peel, so I feel more comfortable peeling all my fruits and veggies prior to juicing... but hey that's just me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31