Delicious gluten-free blackberry pancakes!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

pancakes 1.jpg

This is my number one indulgence when I have a little bit more time to prepare and eat my breakfast. This recipe also makes me feel like I am not really depriving myself of anything by trying to eat healthier. I love gluten-free pancakes and this weekend I experimented adding blackberries to the mix. They turned out amazing and you can easily substitute blackberries with blueberries, strawberries or any other kind of berry you like. This will also give your pancakes a natural sweet flavor if you’re trying to avoid excessive sugar in your diet.

This is my adaptation for 1 serving (4 pancakes approx.). You can adjust portions depending of the number of people.

Ingredients:

Liquid ingredients
1 egg (organic)
½ cup almond milk (coconut milk Works as well)
1 tbsp. coconut oil (melted) (optional)
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
1 tbsp. organic maple syrup (optional)

Dry ingredients
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 cup of gluten free flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill Pancake Mix, but any other gluten free flour will do the trick)

Toppings: Butter (Kerry Gold) and Maple Syrup (organic preferably)
pnacakes ingredients.jpg

My tip for this recipe is to mix all “liquid ingredients” first with a whisk. I melt the coconut oil on the same frying pan where I make the pancakes so that it’s already greased and heated by the time the mix is ready.

pancake liquid ingr.jpg

lquid batter pancake 1.jpg

Mix the dry ingredients on a separate bowl and then start to add them to your liquid mix slowly. I continue using the whisk for this. Here the trick is to keep track of the consistency, if it gets too sticky you can add milk.

pancake batter.jpg

Add berries at the end and use the whisk to mix and break them down into smaller pieces. Make sure the batter is runny enough to spread on the pan once you pour it.

liquimix berries.jpg

Use a serving spoon for each pancake. This will depend on how big and thick you like your pancakes but I use one serving spoon as my measure.

spoons pancake.jpg

Then spread the batter on the pan until you get a round shape. Wait until you see a bunch of wholes to flip the pancake.

pancake cook 1.jpg
pancake cook 2.jpg

Serve with butter and maple syrup and enjoy!

pancake butter.jpg!pancakes eat.jpg

Sort:  

These look super delicious @atorres, I'm so hungry now! I wish I had all those ingredients to make them asap. I really love your last picture, they look specially appetizing, like 3D.

They look delicious... may I ask why gluten free?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89