Smartphones!!! Hazardous To All - Its Use Comes At A Price.

in #health7 years ago

phones.jpg

Research has shown that our use of smartphones decreases our general intelligence. I have found this to be true. Why do I say so? Most times after buying some groceries from the market, I end up using my phone calculator as an easy way out to either sum up the items bought or try to see what change I ought to be given, this affects how fast my brain works, whereas the human brain is meant to even work faster than an automated calculating machine, the end result is I barely use a fraction of my brain.

Now on a lighter mode, the use of smartphones in a social setting decreases the depth of the interaction, creating mere superficial social exchanges. This is big grammar, let me bring it home. Do you notice that if u take a girl out she always has her hands on her phones, she may not be doing anything meaningful with it, she probably may be scrolling through to reduce eye contact with her date, especially if she is shy. This tends to reduce communication between both parties.

Back to the main gist, According to Anna Akbari, "a typical smartphone user interacts with their phone around 85 times a day, this often includes middle-of-the-night checks for work, emails and new likes". This is very common to Steemians, lol!. This shows how obsessed we are with our phones to the extent that most of us dread the thought of our phones getting lost and not being able to have a phone for use during that period, this fear of being without a phone is now called "Nomophobia".

But there is a price to pay- hand, neck and back issues, anxiety, depression, disrupted sleep, diminished attention span, anti social behavior - the list goes on.....

Conclusively, we should all learn to control our phone addictions and not let the phones be in control of our lives. Like the popular adage goes but I will add my own spice, "phones are made for man and not man for phone".

To be forearmed is to be forewarned.
@iamasrealasme

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62390.04
ETH 2455.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66