You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ikaria; an Island Where People Forget To Die

in #health7 years ago

I often see olive oil cited as being very healthy. What most people don't know is that they are not buying olive oil as it has been eaten for thousands of years. You all must have notice the word 'Virgin' on the bottle.

The elders you write of, I bet that if you could check, you would find they use unrefined olive oil from their own trees, or those of a neighbour.

'Virgin olive oil' gives the impression the oil is cleaner, healthier. However, I believe it is far less healthy, as much of what makes the oil healthy has been removed through 'refining'. Similar effects to honey being radurised.

People have used olive oil for at least two thousand years and it has always been known as being healthy for us, yet the corporate paid scientists come along and decide to filter out what has always been in olive oil, claiming that what they are removing is unhealthy, bad for us.

Who do I believe? I believe those countless generations who did not feel the need to refine the oil (men have known how to refine, to some degree at least, for as long as we have used olive oil, but they did not choose to do so).

btw- did you know that it is illegal to sell original olive oil that has not been processed? Seeing as to how food is being used to destroy our health, if I am offered the opportunity, I prefer to get my oil from the owner of the trees, unrefined - I'm happy to take my chances.

Sort:  

The idea of refining is to make products last longer not really for our health benefits. Then another is to make the food have a pleasing aesthetic look to it.

You made some great observation here, reason I still prefer my fruits fresh over all those natural fruit drinks with "no additives"

I did not know about the illegality of selling unrefined olive oil. I know in my country people prefer the refined rice over the local unrefined rice due to the way it looked like.But experts have talked a lot about the health benefits of those "unrefined" rice varieties.

Locally produced riceImported and polished to "perfection"
People think this is not goodLoved by many

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62