You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Convent Girls & Crossed Legs

in #health6 years ago

Haha... you were one of the "slutty" high school girls? (to quote Sister Julian). I'd be really interested to read more about the changes to fascia if you have a link. Convent of Mercy - no short skirts and nothing below the knee which might be considered remotely fashionable and therefore evil. Stockings at all times except for sports. Blazers to and from school, regardless of the heat. Urgh....! My sisters wore hats and gloves too - luckily abolished the year before I started.

Sort:  

Ha yep I would have been a slutty girl. She probably would have been right too, but that wasn't to do with my clothes.

I don't have a link though I could go hunting. Basically your connective tissue wraps all your muscles and joints and extends between them. If it's not kept fluid and malleable, it'll dry out and get 'stiff' which stops other things moving. And it's all connected, so a fascia issue in the foot can lead to a problem further up. Many are saying that the fascia is the meridian channels of Chinese medicine, which makes sense when you look at fascia/meridians together.

We also store a LOT of emotions in our hips, which makes sense given the emotional/sexual thing going on in that area! So 'spreading' your legs is going to help you in more than one way.

I'll see if I can find a link for you later. xx

Basically as I've been taught, the body 'maps' ranges of movement. For example, think of an activity you can't do - for me maybe juggling, or trying to duck dive with fins and flippers and equalising at teh same time as holding my breath. Repetition helps your body learn new pathways of movement that weren't there before. So if we are ALWAYS moving our body in oNE SET PATTERN, we're locking in a particular way of being or not being, as the case maybe. So the more variation in your hip abbduction/adduction the better - by crossing your legs you are teaching your body this is the only way to be.

Think too if you grew up in a room only 4 feet high. How might your spine develop? YOur neck? It'd be really hard to have the same range of motion and flexibility and strength in all your joints and muscles than someone who grew up with space all around them.

It's such an interesting topic, I'm probably not explaining it really well.

Explained it perfectly. OK. Let me see if my massaging friends have some good reading about "stiff" fascia. :) It's super-fascinating to me how something as seemingly innocuous as habitually crossing your legs can have some very serious ramifications later on in life.

I know. Trauma sensitive yoga is the new buzz in yoga town, talking about how trauma is stored in the body and how to teach to that. It's so fascinating that science is proving what yoga has known for a long time. I hope 'stiff' fascia is the right word. Even my osteo is only just starting to work more with fascia, and he's young, keen and smart - it's a whole new territory!!!

on the plus side you aren't going the hell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46