Pomegranate Juice - Exploding with Health Benefits

in #health7 years ago

Pomegranate anyone?!

This pomegranate has been sitting on our kitchen counter top for like, forever already! I have been looking at it several times in the last few days, thinking how best to eat this nutritious fruit.

I love the sweet, tangy taste of pomegranate. However, I have issues opening the fruit and getting these small juicy pellets (arils) off their coat. It's too time consuming for me!

I cannot wait any longer!

Apart from the fruit is getting old, I am really craving for something sweet and sour to eat/drink today. So I cut open the fruit and diligently put these tasty arils on a bowl.

Hmmm... juice it? Or eat as it is?

I decided to juice it, because though you can really eat the small white seeds, I just don't and it bothers me to spit them out ... errr, I know you know what I mean! Lol.

So juice it is!

I chose to use our manual juicer over our electric centrifugal fruit juicer, simply because it is easier to clean (though I need to exert more effort in rotating the lever!).

Caution: Careful, the red juice can leave indelible stain on your clothes!

It did not take me a lot of time, in a matter of 5 minutes I already had a cup of pomegranate juice. I enjoyed it with my peanut butter sandwich. Hah! Lunch done. :D

Tip! If you are avoiding softdrinks, try adding sparkling water to your fruit juice and get that same carbonated effect minus the artificial sugars.

The Pomegranate Fruit and its Benefits

Pomegranate is a round red(to purple) fruit, which has a hard outer skin. Inside, you will find hundreds of red seeds called arils enclosed in a white membrane. These are the edible part, which can be eaten as it is or juiced.

Pomegranates are great antioxidants and are high in nutrients. One cup of arils (174g) contain:

Fiber: 7 grams.
Protein: 3 grams.
Vitamin C: 30% of the RDA.
Vitamin K: 36% of the RDA.
Folate: 16% of the RDA.
Potassium: 12% of the RDA.
(Source)

Kick starting a healthier routine


I love juicing. It makes me feel great and when the body feels good, your actions and everything else will turn positive too. However, I am inconvenienced by the cleaning part - who is not?! So I am not able to really consistently do it.

I also make smoothies from time to time but still, not on a daily basis. Oh! I need to go back to that habit of making myself a protein shake. We'll see. I will keep you posted on that.

How about you? I would like to hear how you eat (or drink) your fruits and veggies. Let me know in the comments below.


Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

SteemPH banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Pomegranates smoothies? Never tried that before! Do u mix your smoothies with other fruits as well?

Nope. I don't make pomegranate smoothies, but i've seen them in salads.

As for smoothies, i usually make strawberries and other sweet/sour fruits.

yummy Pomegranates! Before I don't eat that but when I tried I liked it. Very sweet and healthy =)

True. Nakakatamad lang kapag hindi pa nabubuksan. Pag nakahain na, pwede na. Hehe

one of my favorite fruits.... nice blog...:)

Hello mam , good morning po.
Nakakaganda po iyang pomegranate promise 😊 at saka sa benefit po sa bata nakakadagdag po ng katalinuhan, totoo po iyan.

Thanks sa tips @sheilashraf! Hindi na ulit ako tatamarin magbukas neto. Hehe

Bihira yang fruit na yan dito kaya mahal? hehehe hindi ko maalala kung kelan ako kumain or nakatikim nyang fruit na yan. :)

Hehe. Ako din. Dito na lang nakatikim nito. May panahon din na mahal cia, pero pag season nya talaga, minsan $1 per kilo lang.

Mouth watering ate.. :(

Yes. Bitin. Hehe

fave namin ng ng baby ko. Anti aging pa. Lol

i love pomegranates! super healthy fruit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74