The good, the bad and the ugly of Modern Western Medicine (future MD view) - part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Where I come from we have a saying: "A healthy man has thousands of wishes, a sick man has only one." This quote really grasps the importance of health in our life. No further explanation needed! When we are in dis-ease, everything else suddenly seems so insignificant, especially if we are talking about some lethal condition or disease.
Every civilization had some kind of physicians, healing masters, shamans, gurus of health. Health has always been central to our species. Throughout the centuries, here, in the so-called western part of the world the human race managed to create a system that over the years lost the initial idea. It is not about the system, rather it is about the users of the system.
Today, when we go to see our doctor, the doctor spends more time looking at the computer screen then looking at the patients face. We are in there for approximately 10 min with the doctor who always seems to be in some kind of hurry. We usually feel like we are in the way. Not so rarely we feel stupid, we do not understand what the doctor is talking about.

Lymphadenopathy? Lymph-what?! Fine needle aspiration?? Are you saying it can be coarse as well? What do you mean!!? Gamma knife, hm can I get an Alpha one, I would like to be first in the row.

My answer? Communication, communication, communication. Did you know that good informative conversation with the patient takes care of at least 70% of diagnosing process? 70%! Now that is a number that doctors should use to their advantage. Of course, I can not forget to mention how much importance trust bears in this and any kind of relationship. This connection that makes people want to tell you what is wrong. However, I have to warn you that doctors know when you lie and later they laugh about the lie. So skip that part - it is for your own good! Doctors have no interest in judging you, trust me.

"Everybody lies"
Dr. House

As a future doctor, my aim is to be trustworthy, empathic, understanding, patient, caring, supportive. I aim to be hope bringer and a good listener. My patients will not be called patients, the will not be numbers, I will know their name.

Yours truly, 1st assistant (in the center)

This "short" text was mostly the bad part of medicine, and then there`s good and ugly... Let me know which one you would prefer to see next!

P.S. Of course, there is so much bad stuff but this communication issue bothers me the most currently, therefore it is the topic of today`s rant. I am pretty sure this will not be the only post on this topic - there is a lot to talk about! ;)

Sending love your way,

Ardas

Sort:  

My Oh My! I just realized that I have a young Dr in the house! What a pleasure to connect, at least I now have someone to attain to me asap anytime I have the need to visit a doctor. lol

My dear @ardas, please keep it up and I can assure you that the sky is only but your starting point!

In response to your article, I can say that a sick man's wish is to regain back his health. Without good health, life is totally meaningless. As a result, there is need for everyone of us to be mindful of our health.

I also concur with your point that Communication is the key! I have read several stories whereby patients bounce back after their first visit to their doctors. It still boils down to how the doctor communicated the problem with the patients.

I have no doubts that as a future doctor, you will exhibit all the qualities you have listed above. From the bottom of my heart, I wish you all the very best in your career!
See you at the TOP!

Wow, what a nice comment! Thank you so much for all of your wishes @globalfoodbook. It still amazes me how supporting and nice is to connect with people on this platform. Thank you @globalfoodbook for making it possible :)
And sure, any questions you have about #health are very welcome! ;)

Considering your comment on the article I would also like to add on the importance of the prevention and healthy lifestyle chioces (esp. food and exercise). In some of my next posts, I will talk about it.

I couldn't put it any better than you did: See you at the top!
xoxo

It is my pleasure @ardas. My reason for being part of this great community is to grow and share knowledge with talented brains like you, so I am happy I am fulfilling my mission here 😀 😃.
I look forward to your posts.
Yep, see you at the top!

Altruistic mission! I had something similar on my mind :)
Looking forward to seeing you fulfill your mission and to your posts as well! :)
See you around and at the top! ;)

I like your post. My son's girlfriend is a neurologist. She graduated a couple years ago. She started out with all the intent to have more compassion than other doctors. The way I hear her talk she's changed. Maybe the gruesome schedule or maybe seeing sick people so much. I think it's a hard balance remaining compassionate in the field of modern medicine. I wish you well in all your endeavors.

Thank you! :)
Yes, the case of your son`s girlfriend is unfortunately not the first nor the last, I myself am very afraid of the same situation. The schedule and social environment (colleagues) have much to do with it. As well as distressed patients, angry families. I have experienced some nasty people that do not really care if they hurt your feelings or say really bad stuff to you, disrespect you etc. (believe it or not doctors are also humans!). Also the work itself can be demanding, always being on tight schedule, not having enough time for everyone. It all adds up and unfortunately results in what you described... Balance in everything - that is solution!

You are right that balance is the solution. I think by you wanting to do all you can do says a lot about your character. I know the work schedule can be grueling, so that's something you will have to balance out. Sadly, so many graduating doctors in her class already has autoimmune diseases. It's very sad that sometimes the doctor's health goes down trying to help others. I hope you stay well and enjoy each day and not let the stress take you down.

Oh, I am sorry to hear that, stress does take a huge toll on the body. It is not rare to see doctors coping in any way that they can. My solution is meditation and yoga, going deep into myself. Nothing from the outside can fix our inside.
Also, that feeling when the patient gets better or when s/he comes into our office months/years after feeling grateful is so precious.
Thank you for your wishes!
Have a nice day! :)

Yoga and meditation is a good outlet for stress, it's something she should do it as she seems stressed so much. Have a great day!!

Let me know if it helps :)
All the best! :)

I loved how you quoted Dr. House ... I am seriously considering 'An apple a day keeps doctor away' thing now :)
Upvoted !
SteemOn ! - @Utfull

Thank youuu! :) ;)
Hahahah I did not mean to scare people away, I am just telling the truth ;) (regardless of what dr. House said hahah)
And yep, before I came to med school I used to watch dr. House a lot :)

That is so true

Right? ;)

Modern medicine: one pill for each ill.

Symptomatic treatment - just covering up the real problem...

nice... follow me and vote... i´m folow you

Thnx for the follow! :)

Interesting approach, I would also say from my personal experience that it always depends where you are: A private practice or a hospital and most importantly in which country you have your treatment. Otherwise I am sure you'll do great with your approach! =)

Agreed! Not everywhere is the same. Private practices are much more personal in a sense that they really devote their time to you and that is partly because they get to organize their own working time. In public health care you just do what they tell you to do and what you have to do. Plus there are so many patients that you have to attend to that there is no time :/
And btw thank you ;)

follow and upvote me i am doing that for you
its a very informative topic ,a best piece of information you really deserve for upvoting on that post keep it up my bro nice work cheers i am supporting to you its a very helpful topic following you my bro

Thanx for the support mate! ;)

Thanks, I just remembered I have to pick my mother up from knee replacement surgery today.

Here in Canada, the Western Health System doesn't provide preventative medicine. Only fixes or pills!

Hhahaha good that you remembered on time! I hope your mother feels better soon! Sending best wishes your mothers way!

I do not know much about Canadian system, but if you as a Canadian say this it must be that Canadian system is not that much different form the rest of the Western Medicine. However, it is still mostly public, right? And goverment funded?

There are a million "medicines" out there. Find which is best for you. Judge not others for theirs. Everyone must take responsibility for their own health and of course, the antecedent, their dis-ease!

I agree! :) However, I do think there is a place for improvement, always! And that we should strive to be a better person every day. :) Hope you will have a good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78