Putting your 'legs up' everyday is the best thing you can do.

in #health5 years ago

My very first yoga teacher 7 years ago spoke these words. At the time I wondered how this simple position was so important health wise. I felt a little overwhelmed at the challenge, legs in the air pose for a beginner like me was most uncomfortable and awkward. I definitely could not do this for 30 minutes.

Even though I did not follow the teacher's recommendation at the time, I never forgot, especially this comment, "If you can't do it for 20 or 30 minutes, do it for at least 30 seconds. It is so good for you."

source

Fast forward five years to 2017 and my legs up pose commenced with some earnest. A slow starter I know. 30 seconds was my starting point during my yoga practice. Now in 2020 I can boast of an established legs up against the wall pose for 20 to 30 minutes a day.

I now know that this simple restful restorative pose restores tired feet and legs, relieves tension and stress, regulates the blood flow which is good for the heart, eases swollen ankles and varicose veins, helps with digestion and relieves mensural cramps. The list is a long one. It is suggested that the end of a day is an apt time for busy people to put the legs up.

The Sanskrit word for this pose is Viparita Karani.

source

The real positive about this pose is that you do not need to be a yoga practitioner to do it. Legs up against the wall is for everyone and anyone. Are you tempted to give it a go?

It is so relaxing that I go into meditation and have even known to go to sleep waking up with the legs still up against the wall!

If you want to read an article I found on wikipedia click here.source

Cheers and Blessings

......................................................................

.....................................................................

This sand drawing caught my eye, drawn by a teenager is my bet.

Sort:  

Wow...that is cool to know and a simple thing like that legs up has so many benefits. Thanks for sharing this i am going to jump on this wagon it sounds the perfect thing for me...have a great day my friend 👍

My pleasure and enjoy, nearly time to put my legs up. Hope your day is going well too.

Thank you will definitely try it out...Cheers 🙂

Yeah you need something to counteract all that plonk sir hangin! lol.

True right sir janton 🤣

I thought so! lol.

Hehe..😀 😊 😀

Howdy angiemitchell! I didn't know that the legs up pose was so healthy. I'm going to try that!

Let me know how you go

I will, I already forgot about it though so this is a good reminder! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65