Sugar can cause cancer!

in #health6 years ago

A 1960s study linking sugar to cancer was never publisshed until now.

The study, called project 259 was sponsored by the sugar industry but they pulled the plug on it, due to significant findings that would hinder their commercial interests.

What did the study reveal?

Researchers observed the effects of a high-sugar diet on rats.
The results linked high-sugar consumption to:

  • higher levels of beta-glucuronidase, a substance associated with bladder cancer and increased risk of cornary heart disease

The suspention of project 259 is "ethically concerning", because at the time study was being conducted, the sugar industry blamed high-fat foods for many health concerns, and promoted the "more appetizing" high-sugar foods in place of low-fat foods. This caused lot of dietary changes, that led to obesity and type 2 diabetes in the US.

Sort:  

This is not good news for me. Thanks for sharing though :)

You are welcome! :) Just make sure you eat less sugar and you will be fine. I don't eat sugar at all and it wasn't that long ago I ate tons of sweets a day. But sugar is adictive so when you once quit. You start feeling like you don't want sugar anymore.At least that§s how I felt.

That's scary! I have been thinking about going completely refined sugar-free. It's a process but I'll get there!

Is sure is. I'm trying as well. But I'm sure you and I can get there! Just think about your health!

I stay away from granulated sugar as much as possible and I use natural sweeteners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59