You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cancer Treatment With Food - The Daily Brown Smoothie: Looks Like Filth. Battles Cancer to the DEATH.

in #health6 years ago

Oh my god! It really does look discussing, lol. The contents sound great though, and thanks for adding some of your rabbit hole results which I wasn't aware of yet. Question though - how do you go about using only a part of a veg or fruit, like one fifth of a beetroot? Isn't it sad to cut it open then let it sit and let the quality go to waste? I guess that is one reason why I typically make more simple smoothies - less ingredients, but more of them (like just kale and apple, or spinach and banana combinations). Adding more herbs and spices is a great idea though, I should experiment with that more!

Sort:  

Ha. It looks like shit. But of course, looks don't tell the full picture.

I don't find cutting up beetroot or the ginger root into pieces sad. The remaining piece is used within a few days and doesn't lose any appreciable nutritional value as they are refrigerated. If you have any evidence to suggest cut vegetables lose significant amounts of nutritional value while refrigerated over about 5 days, I'd love to know about them to correct my ways if need be.

I find that I'm adding more and more ingredients to my smoothies as times goes on. I never used to add beetroot or basil. I know each vegetable or herb has different phytonutrients and I want to incorporate more of them into my diet. The smoothie is just very easy and convenient to do so.

Are you a Dr Greger fanperson? I'm hooked on his videos. I used to be able to look up 'dr greger and x food' and there would be a video he did. Now I'm finding that my questions are getting more specific and he hasn't done a video about it yet, so I'm having to do more and more PubMed searches!

One video I love is the one about cooking methods of vegetables and changes in their nutrient content.

Thanks for dropping by!

All the best,
Nick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30