How to help your brain take away the trash

in #health7 years ago

Today I will take a break from the Emotional Equations I've wrote about lately because I feel a little tired on this subject. And because I found out why I am tired and what to do with this I believe is something worth sharing :)

Inside Out

I don't know how many of you watched the movie Inside Out. If you didn't please do, it's the best cartoon I ever saw. Has a lot of research behind it and explain in the most easiest way not so simple concepts about how our brain works.
One of the parts I like the most is referring to memories. A memory is the sum of connections between multiple neurons. In the movie, all memories are represented by shiny balls. All this balls are stacked in a kind of library, thousands and thousands of memories. If we keep accessing those memories they will keep shining. Once we forget about them they will fade away. And when they loose all the shine, workers will come and throw them away.


source: http://arrowthroughthesun.blogspot.ro/2015/06/understanding-brain-science-with-inside.html

The biological explanation

For the ones needing a more theoretical source and explanation of the same idea, I found a great article: https://www.fastcompany.com/3059634/your-brain-has-a-delete-button-heres-how-to-use-it.

There are 2 processes happening between neurons:

  1. Building connection
  2. Removing connection

When the building process is too intense and we don't have enough removal activity, we will feel tired and incapable to learn anything new. And it is normal, you're close of it's maximum capacity. If you insist, no new connection will be created and you will start to lose, randomly, the most recent ones.
Those workers from the Inside Out are the "Glial cells" and they are both the ones enhancing the connection between neurons and removing the connections when they are not used anymore. So, every-time you remember something without knowing where did it came from, thank you glial cells for playing with your neurons.


source: pixabay

How to help my brain clean-up?

There are 2 simple ways you can enhance your brain activity by helping the glial cells remove the unused connections.

1. Get enough sleep

Sleep is that moment when the cells have the time to remove the old connections. During the awake period they are too busy building new ones. So get yourself enough sleep. Short naps also count.

2. Choose those things you are thinking of more often and avoid thinking about things you don't want to keep in your brain

There’s a well known saying in neuroscience: neurons that fire together wire together. So if you want some thought to be removed and to take away some trash you have to start by stop wiring those neurons. The glial cells will do the rest but it's in your job to start focusing on what matters and can help you instead of sabotage yourself and wire self destructive connections.

Now, I don't know about you but I feel I have some waste to throw so I'll go take a nap.
Have a good evening, steemians! And happy clean-up!

Sort:  

Hi Alina, that's a really useful article. In general I don't sleep to much (around 6 hours) and from what I understand this happens because my mind hasn't to much to clean or ... ? This can be a barrier in learning process?

I read articles saying that the number of hour of sleep our bodies need depend also on other factors like age and gender. @alinamarin, what is your take on this?

Yes, it is. Lifestyle also. There are studies saying that men need less sleep than women which is also true. I would say that if you feel good and up to each day challenges you have enough sleep

Nice article, I'll follow the advice and stop sabotaging myself with useless memories/thoughts.

Good luck and patience, is not easy but for sure it deserves the effort:)

I like seeing this kind of articles here on Steemit. Up

Thank you@munteanu. It's nice to see that the subject that interest me have an added value for others also.

Inside Out :) Nice movie (would rate it as a movie)
Nice piece of advice for cleaning-up the mind. It is sometimes hard to do it :)

By the way, off topic (don't flag me). Where do you guys talk besides steem it about steem and strategy? Is there a Romanian fb group for steemit? I created one(link in profile), but we are only two till now inside.

I did not knew about any initiative like this, I will check the one created by you. We were thinking also about getting together and enhance the romanian side of steem, keep in touch:)
And yes, is a movie...I just wanted to set the right expectations:))

Join freely, I will make anyone admins and moderators. It should be a trust bases community.

Nice article, @alinamarin! And Inside Out movie, too!

i don't think I know one single person that would say the movie is not a good one:) glad you liked the article.

Very useful information. keep up the great work.

Thanks for stepping by!

sometimes you can`t make yourself to stop thinking there is no chance to get a good sleep because you have issues in your life that makes you sad and starting thinking a lots of things

I know this is like a circle you can't escape from.
I don't have a general solution to that one, there are multiple things you can try.
One would be exagerating your worry so much that we will realize that it cannot be that bad. Another would be finding someone to talk to about those sad thoughts and empty your bucket so you can fill it with happy ones. You can read my previous articles about emotional equations, depending on the source of your sadness you can find there some insights

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61