You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are green smoothies healthy?

in #health7 years ago

I am trying to drink a glass of juice every day. According to science, more than just a glass of juice is not metabolized (400ml), but I think it also depends on the body and on the quantity spread.
Do you know anything about this? Could I drink a glass of orange juice in the morning and in the evening drink a smoothie and get both nutrients processed?

Sort:  

Hmm... that's another post I think! The danger with orange juice is that juicing removes more of the fibre so the fruit sugar (fructose) can give you a blood sugar spike. That's why you shouldn't drink more than 400ml. It's not that it's not metabolized – it's metabolized too quickly. But you'll still be getting vitamins from the orange.
You could certainly drink a smoothie in the evening, or at lunchtime. The fibre in the smoothie should slow down the metabolism of the fruit sugar, especially if you add greens such as kale to it.

I will try starting tomorrow.
As for the metabolizing more than 400ml of juice per day, I am sure I read that somewhere.
If i find it, I will tell you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64