You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gentleman Medical Series #2; Living with HIV

in #health6 years ago

Since I was small I was very afraid of it, especially after hearing that people get stung with infected needles in trams.
This has stayed with me over the years until I was 16 or so and I have started to investigate on my own.
I took part in Fight Aids@Home on World Community Grid, basically donating computer power to help check which proteins bind to the virus so they plug it off before sticking to the cells in the body. This was before bitcoin mining was a thing :)
I have about 11 years of contributions there. Plus, I have worked with HIV+ people. Under treatment, some are actually able to live perfect lives and the CD4 and 8 cells are around their normal counts while the viral load is undetectable.
So the chances are that if a person is under treatment, 99% of the time the risk is marginal. The risks comes from the people not under treatment and unaware of the infection, as the virus works on all organs covertly.

Great article and really good initiative! You have my respect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52