Health issues and knitting

in #health7 years ago

I've struggled with health issues all my life. Today is one of those days that have to me to stay at home. And often the days I am grounded at home affect my mood too as I'd rather be out and about and participate in life (even if it's only the groceries shopping).

I am glad however I found a way to make these days a little less annoying at times. So if it keeps me at home but leaves a little strength I knit. I learned to knit when I was still in preschool from my mom and loved it. I knitted all the way through my school years and at the early years of my job. But then the job demands along with relationships and all the grown up stuff got more and knitting took a back seat. Up until my health deotoriared so much I was pretty much stuck at home for six months a couple of years ago. But as time had fortunately moved on from my childhood there were now online shops for yarn. 😉 So knitting became a savior from my desperation with online shops for stash and forums to connect with likeminded people. And I enjoyed the feeling of creating something myself so much I stayed a passionate knitter when I was finally back to work.
20170624_184417.jpg
Today I started a no need to concentrate very easy project that requires no constant counting of stitches and can be tossed aside and picked up again with every bout and thus is very forgiving. It will be a traditional vest made from drops Lima and with a pattern from Lana Grossa. My dad aka the miracle man who helps out with grocery shopping, gardening, cleaning windows or doing the laundry asked me to knit one for him and I am anxious if he will like it seeing he still wears sweaters my mom knitted for him 20 years ago. That's standard this best has to live up to🙁😉
20170701_145846.jpg
At times I get some company from my little health guardian. I love when he purrs on my lap but truth be told that's rare on one of those harder days as after multiple times that I'm pushing him aside to get up to manage a bout he seeks another place to sleep. Often though he stays nearby so I can still listen to him purring. He is a lovely teacher in the art of relaxation and often helps me to sit back, breath deeply and find some peace in all the struggle.

20170701_135316.jpg

Today I'm also listening to a very interesting audio book Darm an Hirn!: Der geheime Dialog unserer beiden Nervensysteme und sein Einfluss auf unser Leben (sorry not available in English as of today) on how the nervous system in your gut works and talks to your brain. Lots of interesting facts and stories how medical insights are sometimes gained in shocking experiments.

So as my body regains some peace this afternoon I'm hoping for a better day again tomorrow.

Until then I hope that whatever you struggle with you also have some islands in the day that give you peace of mind.

Have a lovely weekend everybody
Lots of love
Anja

Sort:  

Geht mir auch so :)

Danke. Ich hoffe das bezieht sich auf die Freude am Stricken und nicht auf den Krankheitsärger ;-)

Beides!

Ach schade.... aber immerhin stricken heilt... zumindest oft die Nerven

Das stimmt, es beruhigt mich. Und am Ende erhält man noch was schönes zum Anziehen ;)

Ja. Genau.😙

Congratulations @alabastercraftin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alabastercraftin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20