No Such Thing as a Germ

in #health8 years ago

What I believe about my health has DRAMATICALLY changed over the years. I remember the many stages I have gone through. Each of them a place of better understanding, and appreciation for knowing more. Today I find myself at another, very new to me, perspective that is even better than the last. First I will tell you the other perspectives that brought me to this one.
Many years ago when I was working for other people I felt overly responsible for my position and for me it would be too much pain to feel the guilt of being sick from work, so knowing about the power of my words I would state to myself all the time, “I only get sick on the weekend” And sure enough that is exactly what happened. I didn’t miss any days of work, but I still got sick on my own time.
I think I’ve always had the belief that you just don’t get sick in the summer. I remember hearing about friends having a cold in August and it felt unbelievable to me. It’s like I must think that germs and viruses just vanish in the nice weather.
This eventually led me to thinking and believing that we all get sick now and then so I choose to limit to only once a year. I felt I was powerful enough to keep it away, but I guess I felt it was only fair to give into it once a year. What a weird thing to think now that I see it from where I am now. As if I knew I could influence my health but I felt like I was cheating so I gave myself a penalty for being healthy. BY the way, you guessed it, my health followed my thinking and I would only get sick once a year.
I eventually figured that if it is all about germs and viruses then I just have to avoid the little critters to stay healthy. This went hand in hand with my new understandings in building up my immune system through better nutrition, rest, and exercise. DURING THIS phase I would be scrupulous about washing hands and touching things. Working around small children all the time is, as a friend of mine says, like working in a Petri-dish. I would never eat around the children for fear of transferring those germs into my own system. Through this thinking I feel I actually took a step backwards because there are just too many moving parts to be in control of, and of course you are going to slip up. And sure enough I would slip up and would be sick now and then and I would then look back to what I did to cause it. I always found it to be some instance when I had let down my guard.
I think many people are at this place now. These days many people are getting into eating better and taking better care of their bodies. This is a great thing and I am not saying there is any thing wrong in this. But I will say that this is still a limited way of perceiving our true power.
Another big leap came when I adjusted my reaction to the symptoms of what I used to call the beginning of being sick. Where I used to say “Dam, I messed up and caught something, now I am sick”, I instead started saying, “Good I feel my immune system working.” Then I would send my immune system my love and appreciation for giving me the signs of a wonderful system that keeps me healthy. I am not kidding you it has happened a half dozen times now and each and every time my symptoms just disappear within hours.
This brings me to what I just discovered,
Listening to a series of health lectures I heard Larry Crane say “there is no such thing as a germ”.
“Interesting”, I thought. Then I really thought about it. Actually I really like that. Could it be true? Well, what do I know about reality. I know that we create our own reality through the thoughts we think and the way we perceive our environment (this environment that is made up of energy). So I am convinced that Larry is right, there are no such things as germs. And it would be in my best interest to think about that as much as possible.
So I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86