Not Fit For Purpose

in #health5 years ago (edited)

This post was originally in video form. I've been trying to upload to DTube all day today to no avail. From what I can see, it appears to be an issue with the IPFS servers as usual.

Oh well, I've learnt that once I've tried to upload the same video more than 5 times, it's time to move on.

unfit.jpg

This would have been the fancy thumbnail for the video :)


Here's the simple story: After church, and lunch today, someone suddenly decided a game of football was a great idea. I disagreed, but apparently I don't have an opinion in this place.

I'm not a great footballer by any stretch of the imagination, but I can kick a ball with a certain degree of flair. Under the right light, I may even come across as knowing what I'm doing on the football field.

photo.jpg

What I'm apparently lacking though, is aerobic fitness. Goodness me, I had no idea how bad it had gotten. 10 minutes into the match and I was breathing like a smoker and my motor drives started to shut down.

What was happening? It looks like my semi-sedimentary life in front of the computer has taken a toll on my fitness. Just a few years I go, I was quite the runner. When I worked in the city, I would run home after work. It took an 45 minutes to an hour, depending on how energetic I was feeling at the time.

Something has to be done!

I'm considering creating another Steem account to track my fitness recovery which I have decided to embark upon ASAP. I would probably give Actifit a go as well. That seems to be popular on the blockchain.

I like the accountability factor of documenting and publishing reports of exercise. It gives that extra push I think, especially on those days when one isn't feeling up to it. Just look at the #Seven77 campaign on Twitter.

photo 2.jpg

Having said that, I'm sure I won't be starting on that until I get back to London. There's still one more day of Easter left over here apparently. Tomorrow is when they eat all the chocolate eggs and bunnies, so I shan't be missing out on that :)

Anyway, I'm sure my entire body will hurt like crazy tomorrow. I was using muscles that hadn't seen any action in many years!



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

That's right, the sedentary lifestyle in front of the pc affects us, I've been like this, these last weeks I've walked a lot, so I've recovered a bit ... Enjoy many chocolates tomorrow ... I imagine you'll show us photos of the rich chocolates. :)

Thanks haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

One thing you are very much fit for is a community. The one on steem, the one in your church (which one is that?), the one in London. Dude, you are very fit, the rest is fine technical details.

Haha epic comment. Gotta work on the technicals then :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

man I have the same problem with aerobic exercise and I come from the same background as of doing a lot of sports in the past.

Something needs to be done.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm going to take it slow but I will get back to my former self haha.

I can't help but wonder what those muscles are ... :D

Hahaha. I will let you know in the morning when I wake up with the pain :)

Paining yet?lol

Everything hurts :) My back mostly. Who knew you needed back muscles to play football :)

Hahaha, and they wonder why sports is not my cup of tea..

@actifit is a great way to track and motivate yourself! The team is developing some great stuff for the community. I continue to debate why users feel the need for a separate account but do understand the concept. However, of we ever want to be a true social network that broadens past blogging, I think it should be one account to create a strong network.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting point. I guess I can decline rewards, but it still burns the voting power of my voters.

I am not sure if declining rewards is the way to go as the thought of @actifit is to incentivize effort. Not necessarily a Proof of Brain but a variant. I vote on some post but do so manually so supporters should be aware and exclude that tag or something similar. Just a thought... I will support it either way but I see many debating this subject and can’t understand it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmm maybe you were need to try upload video via Appics app if you use it of course.
Excuse me for question but why do you want to use another account to track your activities?
Be active and I think Actifit will help you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I post a lot already.. and I am on a few autovotes. If I start posting my Actifit reports on this account, I will drain the voting power of my voters. That's the only reason.

Now I understand! Thank you for clarification!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, in my case I am too lazy to exercise. Even my goal to build some muscles has taken the backseat. The only form of exercise I engage in is walking 30 minutes to where I charge my phone every day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

this is so great sir. we wish you happy easter and happy to announce to you our new account to operate fully in Ghana @girlfoundation. Thanks always for your support @adetorrent

Feels really good to see you keeping fit to stay healthy. Let me take this moment to wish you Happy Easter in a special way @adetorrent. Thanks always, sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60