Hitting the reset button with Whole 30!

in #health7 years ago

Before 2017 my fiancé and I used to be extremely healthy. We ate out maybe once a month, we would cook most of our meals together. The hardest part for me about being healthy was trying not to drink a lot of beer. I love a good IPA!

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 12.44.02 PM.png

We were told about whole 30 by my fiancé’s friend, who was in the middle of her whole 30 program when she came over to chat with my fiancé. This was her second go around of the program and I thought it was pretty interesting. Never hearing of this program and not doing much research other than asking her what is the premise of it.

The idea is to restart, reset the cravings that we all have. However, let me explain Whole 30 real quick in my own words. Whole 30 is pretty much taking paleo to the next level! All carbohydrates are consumed from fruits and vegetables. Fats are consumed from fruits, healthy oils like olive oil or coconut oil. Lastly, protein any form of lean protein depending on other fats consumption throughout the day. The writers of whole 30 describe it as eliminating foods that cause inflammation within your body. These are foods like legumes and dairy for example.

About a week later my fiancé and I went on vacation to Canada. We ended up eating out every day at least once. We didn’t even make it through the entire 8 day vacation before we cracked. We couldn’t take it anymore, eating out so much and feeling gross by the foods we were eating.

This led to the conclusion that we need to start over, on day 5 of our vacation we were more excited to get back home and start our whole 30 program! We were more excited about this journey than the 3 remaining days we had of vacation.

We both started the whole 30 program on July 10 and It is now day 4 of the program and I am feeling pretty good about myself. My Fiancé and I plan to complete the 30 days and even take it beyond that! We were both in need of a major health change. We are picking up our old roots of making dinner together as a date night instead of going out! Also we have found out that it is WAY cheaper to just make all of our food at home. Even if we went out once a week for date night. That would save us at least $50 a week!

C5BACDEE-A8FB-42DE-A7EA-4E675C345EAC.JPG
Our first breakfast was a Frittata that I made with sautéd onions, mushrooms, and leeks in olive oil baked with 8 scrambled eggs.

We are not ready to take it to the next level of being vegan like my friends @JerryBanfield and @RobertGenito. You never really know where you will end up in life sometimes though.

With that being said I am very excited about this program and I look forward to sharing my experience with everyone!

Would you leave a comment below if you would like me to share some whole 30 recipes of my own? (My cooking style is VERY unique, I DO NOT follow recipes at all but I can make them!) These of course will be the recipe as well as a step by step guide on how to make it!

Thank you everyone for taking the time to read this and I hope you have a great day!

Cheers,
Albert

Sort:  

Good luck on your whole 30! My girlfriend is doing the same thing right now! It's an awesome way to eat! I'm doing something similar as well but slightly different.

Thank you! Best of luck to your girlfriend with her whole 30 and to you for what you are doing!
Cheers,
Albert

awesome man, great post @aarellanes. This is definitely the way to feel your best and be the most productive. Did you try the bulletproof coffee? I have one every morning and it super charges my day. My brain starts firing on all cylinders and I feel I can just do more. helps me a lot with creativity. Keep up your great work, and good job on your collaborations with @jerrybanfield. Cheers!

Im trying to lower my coffee consumption. This morning I didnt even need coffee when I woke up.

even better then man, that must be largely due to your clean burning food source intake, your strong haha and I see your incorporating coconut oil into your diet anyway, that's the most important part of the concept anyway. keep that mind sharp!

Amazing article @aarellanes. I think everybody should read this.

"We are what we eat"

I had also try it for 7 days but ended up in just 2 days its really hard but after reading your post it would like to give it one more try thanks for sharing.

You can do! Give it one more try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31