Open Enrollment Looming

in #health-insurance4 years ago (edited)

OK, I'm sort of in a panic. I have 38 days before open enrollment at my company ends. I've got choices, and I'm planning to take it seriously - this time.

Well, here's the rub. I've wanted to find an alternative to participating in my company's health-care plan.

Reasons:

  1. I want to save money.
  2. I don't want my health insurance tied to my employment.
  3. Though my company's health insurance is self funded by a major insurance company with no apparent significant cost savings.
  4. I feel that direct pay for my services would be more cost effective.
  5. Routine health care is an uninsurable risk, therefore paying for it through insurance just adds cost. (The flipside is that insurance companies pay for "preventative" visits, BUT those visits are generally cursory in my experience and a nuisance.)
  6. My dental and eye care are additional and there are confusing overlaps with my health-care plan.

I have a family of five. My wife is currently on my company's health-care plan but not my kids - they are on a Medicaid plan. Because of delayed treatment of my kids and our inability to easily switch their providers (we had them on our insurance, when they started with the pediatric and dental offices), we want to get them off Medicaid. The cost to add them to my company's plan is minimal, but premiums already take a significant portion of my income.

We also have to be concerned with pre-existing conditions. I have migraines and acid reflux. My wife has diabetes.

NEXT: Choices

https://dollarsanddocs.blogspot.com/

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66