On Healing

in #healing7 years ago

I was internet searching for some inspiration today, given the horrific events in Las Vegas that occurred earlier today. I came up with this:

the sun will rise again.jpg

As affecting as the incidents of today have been, and the news of the many dead and injured, I had to continue on with what I had to do next. I was not immune to the news, nor was I immune to the internal twinges of loss and sadness, even though I do not think I know any of the victims.

I could argue with many people what the next proper course of actions should be, politically and sociologically. But that won't bring back those who have died, nor will it make the injured recover any faster. Yes, they will heal physically for the most part, but psychologically and emotionally they will forever be changed.

My hope is that each time incidents like this arise that we open our hearts more, rather than close and harden them. I look to myself to keep pressing open too, because I have my own sensitivities to this event as a person of color: my main issue being that the man who perpetrated this act of terrorism was Caucasian. The news media call him "the LV shooter", not "the LV terrorist", but that is exactly what he is, or was (he shot himself before he could be apprehended), a terrorist.

I could rail on about how the social system on this continent still discriminates based on skin color, and will call someone of darker tone a "terrorist", but will call someone of paler complexion a "shooter". But that is for another post. In the meantime, I have much to reflect upon.

I said earlier on the other social media platform that I wish for people to stop harming each other, and to start healing each other. In the meantime, I will just be with myself and how I feel about what happened today.

And I still have the capacity to give a WARM HUG. Thanks for listening.

warmhug.jpg

Sort:  

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Really interesting article... Yes, anyone who imposes on the sovereignty of others for ill is a terrorist... Thanks for dedicating time to helping others work out how best we can heal each other, that's what we need!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93