Beginning to Heal

in #healing7 years ago (edited)

                                                 

I believe I was given the gift of writing to empower others. For the majority of my life, I have run from this gift and most times intentionally neglected it. It wasn’t until recently though, I realized just how important it is. Although I am a novice writer, it is my hope that the words I communicate gives a voice to someone who may not feel they have one. 


It is my goal to not only use it as an instrument to reach the deepest places of your mind but to also use it as an instrument to encourage you. You no longer have to concede to the torment of your past. Instead harness the power you possess to discover healing in your present. 


After hiding my abuse for 30 years, I reached a point in my life that I could no longer keep this secret hidden within me. I was no longer able to function effectively through my day to day processes. The one secret that I vowed to take to the grave with me, the one that had smoldered within me for several decades, the one that I had learned to be “ok” with, would now be the one thing to lead to  detrimental consequences in my life . So, here I am telling my story to the world. This is why I write. If sharing my story can help you share yours, then my writing has accomplished what it was intended for. So please share your story. 


This is the perfect platform for you to do so because it was created for you. You are not alone anymore. It does get better. It is a long journey but it gets better. So I encourage you to reach out and find support in others who have gone through it, like me. 

    Share your story and let’s continue to heal together. 


Image Credit


Sort:  

I admire people like you to have the courage to share your darkest moment and still be strong . I hope victims for this kind of act can read this and can be as strong as you are !! Thank you for sharing this

Thank you for the encouraging words. I truly hope my writing can give others a voice they may not have and encourage them to keep fighting for survival.

Congratulations @amandafranklin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54