Hay Bale Gardening

in #haybale6 years ago

Much to the surprise of my fellow allotment holders, I arrived with a pick up truck and 12 bales of hay. Some thought I was having a barn dance and others asked if they were seats for bingo! Gotta love them.

Hay bale gardening is a new venture for me. I like to do things a bit less main stream and on the allotment I'm know know as the experimental gardener. I'm putting a couple of bee hives on the pot, a bug hotel and now 12 hay bales. They're all in anticipation for how it goes as the promise is that there is less weeding involved, no digging and a bigger yield of produce - no pressure then!

The bales are in the process of being conditioned - nitrogen rich fertiliser and over a 10 day period helps to create the perfect environment for growing as it kills any bacteria, pathogens and seeds due to temperatures reached inside the bale.

Once conditioned they are ready to be planted. I'll keep you informed of the progress!![ fullsizeoutput_1d6.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58