House Where I Live in Big Island "Almost" Taken By Volcano Lava (7/13/18 Update)

in #hawaii6 years ago

(Photo courtesy of USGS)


As many of you know ... I've been having to follow the volcanic eruption events back at home on Big Island from abroad since it started on May 3. I had started my abroad travels from May 1 ... so I have had NO time to be back at home to get my own belongings and car (luckily a friend of mine living on Big Island was able to grab them before the lava cut off access to the house).

The photo above is a USGS aerial photo dated at July 13, 2018. The red circle is the house where I live.

The arrows I've pointed show where the latest flow front in that area is slow creeping towards.

It's a matter of time, before the house I live will be buried by lava. Only a matter of time.

The lava channel was blocked up on the east side of Green Lake crater, so now the channelized lava is flowing west of the Green Lake crater.

Soon enough, there will be more blockages uphill along the channel, and sure enough, the channelized flow will continue to move further westward, which would eventually go in the path of the house.

The last 2-3 months has been a rollercoaster ride of emotions, that I know I haven't fully processed yet. I did break down first time a week ago, crying .. but the full extent maybe for many months ahead.

I return home on August 3rd ... but return to no home. I'll figure it out as I go, while I collect what belongings I have left.


Below is the community map project that shows on Google Satellite where the red circle house is and the two recent flow fronts:



Sort:  

Definitely too close for comfort, I think you scheduled your trip at the right time!

It’s very interesting to me how little news coverage this big volcano has gotten. People I talk to seem to have heard very little about it. There are over 40 active eruptions right now (10-20 is average). Seems like this is the most active period for volcanoes seen in my lifetime. The population has tripled in less than a century, only a matter of time before the earth sheds some fat. People worry about the nwo depopulating the earth, I tend to think they may know something we don’t.

Oh man that sucks! Just come back later and build your space again on the volcánica rock. That'de be cool. I hope you get all your stuffs and beloved ones together. Stay safe!

I am scared to see the photos of the volcano. It's so devastating. Except it, I like everything about Hawaii. Have a safe and nice tour.

guys do follow me to get amazing and unbelieveable food facts and posts regarding health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85