How I Got a Free Trip To Hawaii

in #hawaii7 years ago

There’s this theory that says people are nice to foreigners. Not just friendly-nice, but they’ll-go-all-the-way-in-their-power-to-help-you-nice.

When I came back to Osaka from Gran Canaria back in 2015, I was looking for some part time jobs. I asked some of my friends that are self-employed if they needed help with anything and when they didn’t, they introduced me to their friends.

One night when I was in a friend’s friend bar somewhere in Kitashinchi area, the owner of the bar introduced me to his friend who happened to be there during my job interview. He was a Japanese guy in his early 40s with somehow a scary look and tattooed arms. Now in Japan, people with tattooed body are usually associated with yakuza (Japanese mafia), so I was a bit skeptic when he asked me to teach him English conversation. But he offered to pay pretty good and I could use some extra money, so I accepted the offer.

It turned out he was pretty sketchy. He admitted he used to do stuffs that are highly illegal. Most probably he really is somehow connected to the yakuza, if he himself isn’t. But he was nice and nothing weird ever happen during our sessions, so I continue to try to make him speak English for 2 hours every week. One day when I was trying to make him talk about his job, he told me his company is opening a Hawaiian donuts cafe and he’ll have a business trip to Hawaii soon. Me, trying to keep the conversation going, told him I’ve never been to Hawaii and I’m jealous of him for escaping from winter. He then invited me to come along with him and two other employees to help with interpreting meetings.

At first I thought he was just joking, but to my surprise he was actually serious. He said hiring a professional interpreter there will probably cost more or less the same. Though I highly doubt that, I got to go to Oahu Hawaii, for the very first time, for free! The flight, hotel, and meals were all paid for :)

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 5.50.51 PM.png

This experience may or may not be an example of the ‘people are nice to foreigners’ theory, but I do feel very lucky to meet different kinds of people in Osaka :)

This post is one of my favorite post from my old blog copied.
https://travelingtako.wordpress.com/

Sort:  

Congratulations @bibiabeyeye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bibiabeyeye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bibiabeyeye! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60666.02
ETH 2636.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60