Hatman! My Time Travelling Adventures (Part 8) Great great grandpa tells me a bit of family history...

in #hatman7 years ago (edited)

2017-07-05 21.39.29.png

Standing there by the broken gate
opening to a small untidy yard
with a narrow path of mud
leading to the back of a crumbling brick terraced tenemant
on a damp and foggy Autumn evening
in East London
in 1917
I stared into the old man's face.

His features were undoubtedly familiar. He had a very distictive 'Nadler' look, shared by my mother and her siblings and certain of my cousins. Tall and thin. The high forehead and a certain angle and slope of the nose. A quirky sort of deadpan humour behind the eyes. Well maybe that's not genetic, but it runs in the family.

Now I finally spoke for the first time since I'd arrived and he'd led me from the market to here. 'So what you're telling me, is that you're my great great grandad?' He nodded slowly, seriously, looking me straight in the eye, fixing me with a very intense stare, full of meaning. He raised his thick eyebrows just a fraction, as if to say, '..go on'. But my mind was finding it hard to comprehend the words I was trying to say. It was folding in on itself as it tried to grasp the impossible paradox. But eventually I managed to utter the words, no doubt in a strange kind of voice, unbelieving that I could be having such a conversation in real life.. 'And, also.. that.. you're... my... my.. ... .. ...son...?!'

His eyes were welling up with tears. His wizened old face crumbled up as he was overcome with emotion. He reached out his arms and gave me a great big hug. I didn't really know what to do. It was a very strange moment. Quite unexpected. After all, only fifteen minutes earlier - though the memory was already dreamlike - I had been in the attic of my parents' house in London in the year 2017.

Perhaps sensing my confusion and discomfort at finding myself in this strange situation, he pulled himself away and composed himself. 'Sorry, sorry', he said, mopping his eyes with a cloth handkerchief, initialed, I noticed, with the delicately embroidered letters in gold thread MN. 'It's just.. I've always dreamed of this moment and I've waited so long to actually meet you. Now that you're actually here...'

'But you said you are my son? How is it you've never met me?' I asked, puzzled.

'You disappeared before I was born.'

'What do you mean?'

'Just that. You disappeared. Just vanished. She said you had this big fight, then you stormed off and never came back. She was going to tell you that night that she was expecting, but then she never got the chance because you totally vanished. Poor old mum. She was always waiting for you to come back, but you never did. And now you're here. Incredible!'

'Oh my God.' I gasped. 'Who's your mum?'

'Kim.'

I sunk down to the ground, my back against the fencepost, my head in my hands, trying to grasp what I was being told. My mind was exploding.

'Come on', he said, offering me his hand. 'Let's go and have a cup of tea. Your great great grandma's dieing to meet you. I believe she's made a fruitcake.'

.
.
.

(((*click the hatman tag to read parts 1- 7, which describe how I got into this situation... here are links to the story so far)))

https://steemit.com/writing/@stillgideon/5bfjrf-hatman-my-time-travelling-adventures-parts-1-to-5

https://steemit.com/writing/@stillgideon/hatman-my-time-travelling-adventures-part-6

https://steemit.com/writing/@stillgideon/hatman-my-time-travelling-adventures-part-7

*Part 9 coming soon, in which I will taste great great grandma esther's legendary fruitcake,
*and the mysteries of multidimensional time travel will be explained...
*Writing this on a timephone from the year 2047.
*Connection very limited and intermittent

Sort:  

Woah!!! This is getting really good!

Thanks. I'm glad to see people following it. I'll write down the next part tonight hopefully, if I can get a decent connection on my Timephone. I'm snowed in at the moment. Freak blizzard. The weather in 2047 is crazy.

And I thought was was crazy now!
I hope you have enough warm clothes and gloves! Do they have hot chocolate in 2047

Yes, I'm in this forest hideway that I found. I described it in part 6 or 7. It's very comfortable, for a man on the run.

OMG, i lost it a bit and clicking on hatman doesn't show me the previous parts. Can you put the link here again? Don't blame your writing for me losing it, i just read too fast and always a few days in between, hope you bring a book out later, my girlfriend is happier if i have a kindle in my hand instead of a phone.

Thanks @bubke . yes, I just noticed that too. I've added links to the other parts now

bravoo..
again!

glad u post in short bites so i dont lose the plot!

You do better than me, totally lost it :-)

The story so far...

☆ I am writing on the run from 2047, sending posts to steemit using a timephone I have made from stolen parts.

☆2017 - I found an Interdimentional portal in the form of a bowler hat, with a letter addressed to me instructing how to use it.

☆2017 - I had a fight with my girlfriend (Kim), stormed off and in a state of madness and despair, used the portal to travel to 1917.

☆1917, my great great grandad, a time traveller and also my son came to meet me..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45