Pause... lift your hand above your eyes to shade them and peer into the distance...

in #haste7 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
Take action, demand action, but be wary. Do not be enticed into the short term outcomes of action. The long term implications of such actions could be far worse than any gains.

This short post (at least when it comes to me) is to state some simple things that I believe are often forgotten.

Because an action seems like a good thing now, does not mean it cannot make things worse in the long term.

This post is to say to not be haste (too quick) to call for actions, or jump to action. Pause for a moment, shade your eyes with your hand above them to block the sun or the bright lights and peer into the distance. This distance could be simply contemplating the future.

The action you choose now may seem great now. It may seem like it is going to solve problems now. Yet, while you are living in the now there are futures rushing towards you that will eventually replace that now.

There are perhaps some simple questions we can ask to help with this process:

  • Who pays for this process or how do we make it happen and be sustainable?
  • Do we need to take something from others involuntarily to make this happen?
  • If this action persists for a long time what type of impact might that have on people that are touched by it? Will they learn to fend for themselves, or will self responsibility be further removed from their lives? (Give someone a fish, or teach them to fish. One is short term, the other long term.)
  • Will it truly do what is claimed, or are you supporting it just because someone told you it was true?

That's about it. Think before you act. This does not mean forever paralyzed in decision paralysis while you think. It simply means, PAUSE and consider. It is not considering the WHAT IFs. It is considering the WILL HAPPEN.

When someone promises you something free. Someone has to pay for it. So where is that going to come from? It could be by stealing it from someone else, or perhaps everyone. It could be more taxes. Which means you and no one else gets a choice, and those who spend your taxes tend to be far less accomplished at it and wasteful than if you simply did it yourself.


Steem On!




Sort:  

What is this madness? The government said I get free benefits and they will pay me more to be an unemployed slave farmer for them. They said if I just keep birthing new slaves to their greed economy that I would get more free money. I'm sick of all you naysayers trying to judge me. I know this post was targeting me specifically wasn't it @dwinblood how rude of you! (sarcastic rant over)

You caught me. It was all about you. ;)

Especially important when buying on crypto exchanges :)

Hahaha.... I am far from an expert on that. I messed with it a little bit over the past few days... mostly spending a very small amount of money on extremely low valued crypto so I could check them out in the future. :P

When I say extremely low amount. I spent less than $10.

Some of my friends think they will become millionaires on it. Makes me wary. :/

I actually sold all the crap I was messing with. Unless you're going to spend a lot of time, unless you get incredibly lucky you're going to make only a little over what you put in. So how much is your time worth required to track that?

So me putting in less than $10... odds are I might make a few cents over time and even if I doubled it... how much of my time do I take monitoring it? How many hours? So if i doubled $10 and now have $20 and I spent 5 hours monitoring it then that means my time was worth $2/hour.

Not worth it. That is also being very profitable. It is not likely to double.

Buying and selling crypto unless you get in on something right at the beginning before launch is something people with a lot of money already might benefit from, but not someone like me who has very little money.

My thoughts exactly. Never been gambling type :/

So you wouldn't support a buddy of mine's saying, "Do something, even if its wrong." LOL
You write some wise words. Along the lines of think before you jump lol.

My dad used to say two wise things to me:

"Think before you speak" which later I heard in an Anthrax song as "Think before you speak, or suffer for your words, learn to give respect to others" - The hidden wisdom in music.

His version of your statement was:
"Look before you leap"

Intresting post but what about the moments you have to react and isnt time to think a lot ? Than how you mejure the situation ?

There are moments like those and then you should use a little common sense. Yet I believe you can see from my post that this is not what I am referring to. The moments you have no choice but to make a quick decision in are not the ones where you have time to reflect on short term gains versus long term consequences. Those fortunately tend to be more rare than the kind where you do have a chance to consider.

People tend to embrace many things these days with very short term vision (often without any memory of even a few days prior to that) and no consideration for long term ramifications.

This coupled with the tendency for most people to not like to admit when they are wrong is a dangerous combination. I'd argue a good deal of the world problems today arise from such a combination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99