You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let go

in #harris7 years ago

I turned off TV, cable, or any dish access about 5 years ago. I only need the internet. By now, I figure I've saved myself at least enough money to buy a good used car.

I don't miss television. It's a waste. The MSM are all scripted and fake - there's better sources for news online, from a variety of sources.

The thing I disliked the most about TV was all of the advertising. I couldn't see paying $50/month so that 1/3 of the air-time advertisers could push annoying ads with stupid music, shows, and products that I had zero interest in. At least the internet has "smarter" advertising, and sends things my way that are related to my past searches. Actually, that is a little bit creepy - but online you usually have options as to what advertising you want to see, and can turn off a pop-up after a couple of seconds. Why would I pay somebody to advertise AT me?!?! I just couldn't stomach it any more.

As for catching my favorite TV shows - I used to do Netflix for $8/month, but I don't even pay for that any more. You can find just about everything on YouTube or some other video-sharing site. Maybe not right at the time it is released - but soon after. That's good enough for me. The internet has no shortage of content, though. I can always find something I'm interested in. TV is not so interesting.

Plus, who doesn't like to spend, save, or invest and extra $50/month??? I do. Let the TV/cable/dish go by the wayside. You'll get more things done that you need to get done, save money, and enhance your life. It's a good move.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54