To the buzzing mosquitoes in my room

in #harmony6 years ago

Several years of failed and frustrated attempts to have a harmonious and friendly relationship with you leave me no choice but to finally write these lines.

First, I make it clear that I am not one of those who despise diptera for their very existence; in fact, I am totally convinced of the importance and value that their credit to the food chain and to the perfect and precise functioning of the universe and life.

However, I consider that respect for the dignity of others is not reciprocal, since their actions towards me make it clear that I am nothing but a prey, an object of mockery and ridicule, and it is here that I ask you to understand my excessive anger at such an attitude of contempt.

I do not seek to minimise them, but your strategy, while efficient, does not propose anything new and is not worthy of my admiration. It has been used by the most legendary and ancient armies to destroy their enemies. Attacking in the dark, when the opponent sleeps, lowers his guard and becomes an easy target... what cowardice! All my respect for your species is diminished by this baseness of your actions.

Don't judge me too harshly. Put yourselves in my shoes. Due to the nature of my work schedules and hectic pace of life, the only thing I long for at the end of the day is the sacred moment of my sleep, which is not only interrupted, but aggrieved, by your scandalous and annoying night flight. One loses one's mind when they mess with one's sleep. (No, what I must recognize here is the capacity of its small and feeble anatomy to produce such a roar! It is to be admired).

I know you enjoy and take pride when I finally, with all my sorrow, turn on the light and get up, determined to undertake the quest to finish you off. They enjoy watching me jump around the room like a crazy goat, waving my arms like an advertising inflatable of those who put them outside the shops, but understand me. It wasn't an impulsive decision. Several minutes had already passed when I gave them a chance to stop the aggression and there came a point when one was running out of patience and had to fight back.

I boast of some victories, some bloody and dramatic ones that leave traces on the furniture and on my conscience. Others are silent, quick and effective, but the reality is that I am not a psychopath and it hurts me to go to those extremes of massacre and murder. I apologize to you and to the whole species, but if you would do your part, there would be no need for such measures.

I am writing this because I believe that despite our differences and the history of war that precedes us, we still have time to reach agreement. I understand your need for my blood as the only means of food, and I have no problem with cooperating with you and am willing to do so, as long as the appropriate times are set. My skin is available for your snack during the sunny hours, and in silence.

I do not intend to eradicate your species or make your existence a miserable experience, but do not make yourself difficult either. It is a matter of"live and let live".

I do not think it is impossible to establish a new era, where man and flies come together and live as brothers, in a glorious state of harmony and peace. Think about it, and if I don't hear you tonight, I'll know you've accepted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97