Love, Hate relationship

in #harley6 years ago

I really love this bike, but it has caused me far more stress than any other motorcycle. I am a licensed motorcycle mechanic and I can't keep this thing running, it pains me to admit it but if you were a die hard Harley owner back in the day then you were a sucker for punishment. If you ever own one of these old school chopper jobs you will understand right away why there are so many pictures from the 70's of guys working on these things on the side of the road... they really are junk... Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love this bike but it is the furthest thing from reliable. It is very obvious where Harley got it's reputation from and why they had to pull their heads out of their asses and build something better after the Japanese bikes showed up.

20180514_001232.jpg

I am going to sell this old girl and let someone else have the battles. I will build a replacement from one of my 70's Hondas and live with the ridicule, but I would rather spend more time riding and less time wrenching on my own stuff.

20180512_202537.jpg

Maybe I'll just ride the little Z50 around.

20180514_001249.jpg

Sort:  

I used to live across the street from a Harley owner and every weekend I would get to enjoy the same ritual. Open garage door to start Harley. Go back inside to get gloves. Harley stalls before reaching the door. Restart Harley. Harley stalls before reaching door. Restart Ha.... etc. etc. He eventually fixed the problem; he sold it. Love the look of the old beasts, but I would not want to own one. Greetings!

You made me laugh my ass off with the Z50 ending! That thing will run forever!

Such a good looking bike, i guess its time to let this guy go and become someone else's baby. I think you took care of it quite well. I wish you the best new bike my friend, not quite sure the size of the z50's

Cheers

I feel your pains my friend, it aches the heart when belonging gets frustrating. I agree with you to sell it. Afterall it’s not about what you ride in the world of steem , it’s is your value added . You just added value to the little Z50

You should chop and that little z50. That would be bad ass. I couldn't see anyone ridiculing you for that.

I've thought about it. There are a lot of aftermarket options for those things. Super chargers and everything...

Nice. That would be bad ass if you could lower it and get it up to highway speeds. You would have to tag it. Depends on your states laws.

The old Z's are street legal. Came with lights, signals, horn and everything. It is super easy to put them on the road. Just search Z50 custom monkey bike and you would be amazed with what people have built.

that z50 will run longer than either of us will!

100% it will. 😂

Well, I'm no good at motorcycles (other than admiring them from a distance, if that counts!), but this one sure looks beautiful :D Pity you're selling it..

She's a genuine old school scoot. I will miss it but I'm positive it will make someone else super excited to have it and play with it and experience the nostalgia of a vintage Harley.

oh heart tuching talk,i wish you early get up this provlume

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34