Harley Davidson!! Its a passion!! The LEGEND and dedicated to another LEGEND in my life!!

in #harley-davidson8 years ago (edited)

To some that symbol represents Outlaw, Hell's Angel, Rebel and Trouble!!

To me it represents Freedom, Spirit, the Open Plain's and a more personnel level My Father.

Stephen Wayne Brewer..

In this photo taken around November 1971 he was only 18 yrs old, it was about 3 months before I was born. As a young boy he found a love for motorcycles, and especially Harley Davidson, he loved the thunderous sound, the primordial thunderous vibration that you could feel through the ground as they rumbled, the style, the legend and most of all the Freedom that the spirit of Harley Davidson embodied!!

He got his first Harley when he was seventeen, it was a 1968 Sportster 900.

It was his pride and joy and would spend every possible minute riding,cleaning and servicing it!

Then just over a year later I came into his world, but he still rode his Harley everyday to work , then on the 21st January 1975, while on his way home from work he was going through a intersection, a truck went through a red light and just clipped the back of the bike, the bike went over and back then helmet's weren't as safe and advanced as they are today and the helmet broke his neck, it was 10 days before my 3rd birthday and 2 months before his 21st birthday.

I don't have many memories of him, but I have inherited his love for Harley's. The freedom then encompass, there almost prehistoric feel and sound and there beauty!!

When I was a teenager my Uncle how still has my fathers Harley gave it to me, It is still in my uncles shed in its original condition after the accident and I haven't fixed it, it is his memory and that time in space that belonged to him and i feel it should stay that way. Every now and then ill go and sit there and look at it and think of the young man that loved and cared for it like it was a part of his soul, he will always be a 20 yr old young man that was at the start of his life, with a young family living him dream.

Harley Davidson

From the very first production Harley Davidson that was produced in 1903 to the modern version

to the models that are on the market now, they share a very long and colourful history, from WW1 , WW2 and every major war conflict, they have been on every continent(not to sure about antarctica), they hold a place in history once being the fastest land vehicle .

Since there first production model was released in 1903 there has been 33 production models released with 17 models still available, each model has evolved and also the Harley Davidson Company will make you a Custom bike if you have the money.

With Harleys they come in all shapes and designs, its like a "your stamp on the world" to create your own custom Harley!!

Here a few pictures of custom bikes that I love !!

To me these are works of art and show the passion people have for these bikes.

Thanks for reading about my passion and my father!!

Ride FREE and SOAr with the eagle old man!!

Sort:  

Great to see more two wheel enthusiasts on steemit. Thank you for sharing your story but sorry to hear about your dad. It is only my opinion but I feel you should get that old hog back on the road. You didn't mention if you ride yourself or not but the process may be cathartic.

Sorry yes I ride I have a 1991 Sturgis , its my baby , just ask the wife lol!! and maybe one day the old Hog might come back to life . Its weird , its like a piece of me that has been laid to res, I have not problems with the old young mans passing, its life and when i sit there and look at that old Hog it actually makes me smile knowing when he was called he was living his passion.

Thank you for sharing this story about your dad and your passion for Harley's. I'd like to welcome to Steemit with a Screaming Eagle up vote!

Your welcome and thank you and back at you !!

Great post dude

thanks mate!!

haha like this thanks for share @shawn-brewer ,This bike is the most resilient and very gallant to the strong man

You cant beat a Harley mate!! It will usually beat you!! lol

lol...haha ,has a bikes like this is the dream of every tough guy, and always surrounded by beautiful women sexy

lmao so true mate so true

Excellent story about Harley.
Photos are stylish.

Thank you and yeah i could post a million pics mate , got files full, love em all!!

yep

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51