You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2017: The year of the CPU

in #hardware7 years ago

I honestly have been waiting for AMD to come back for a while (not a fanboy, I just like an underdog story). It's been well documented that whenever AMD and Intel are fighting it out trying to outdo each other, that's when real innovations come, and we as consumers are the ones who reap the benefits, last year I was going to get a 7700K but when I read a little about Ryzen when they first released it I knew I should wait.
Then it came out and it was really good, a consumer grade processor with 8 cores and 16 threads for 400 bucks, unlocked and overclockable from the get go, and the I read that, as you said, that was a worst case scenario for AMD, ooh, I got really pumped for what's coming, all of that with out taking into account that inter has been churning out the same bullshit for years with just minimal increments on their products just because they knew they could.

I think Intel is ganna have to perk up and get their act together, otherwise AMD is gonna plow over them in the span of a year or two. 2019 is gonna be crazy!!!! Crazy good :)

Sort:  

That is certainly true of any market - competition is wonderful! As long as it's fair, of course. The last time, Intel went full mafia.

I'm reasonably confident AMD will take a clear lead in 2019. Intel will certainly fight back strongly, but for the short term, AMD has to make hay while the sun shines.

Agreed! :) I am looking into getting a new computer for my work and I'm going to build it, and Ryzen right now seems like the best option, the fact that the AM4 socket will be in use for at least 4 years is very encouraging :)

AMD have always been good with that! They only move to new sockets when they need to. AM4 looks it'll be supported till DDR5 comes out (AM5 then). A fresh change from Intel, who seem to have a new incompatible socket every year or two...

That's the second reason I didn't pull the trigger on an intel based system before, now with coffee lake, I was tempted again, it is a very powerful processor but it's just more of the Intel shenanigans we're used to seeing now, coffee lake has the same LGA 1151 socket as the previous Z270 chipsets, but will only work on Z370 chipsets because older Z270 boards are "electrically incompatible".

Knowing that I can get a Ryzen system now, and update the processor in three to four years time with something that will be way superior and not have to buy a brand new motherboard for it to work helped me to stop and do the research.

As soon as I have saved up enough I'm getting a Ryzen system.

And all of this not even taking into account the threadripper vs X299 discussion, which is just as crazy/disconcerting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36