You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Equilibrium Reached: Problem #1 - How To Deal With Wallet Spam?

in #hardfork206 years ago

I've given the wallet spam problem a lot of thought and the only solution I can come up with is to create a cost increase with a condition of follow.

Let me see if I can explain my crazy logic here... between you and I there is trust, I follow your account, you follow mine, so maybe our cost of transacting should be small due to this very reason, we have a trust system. (indulge me for a second).

But I was a spammer and only followed you, but you did not follow me back, then the cost in RCs could be considerably higher for the same transaction, or the minimum amount for the memo could be higher.

Lets make it min memo 0.1 SBD or something, then unless its actually an important message or a thank you note or something people won't be throwing away dimes left and right.

This could be implemented on a UI level, but in order for the spam bots to also be cut at the knees it would have to be implemented on the actual blockchain.

So two separate costs:

(established trust) = cheap

(non established trust) = expensive

Sort:  

Good idea, but why not just raise the minimum amount?

its possible, but i guess the only reason why i dont default to that is because there at apps, like the Chat Wallet developed by @therealwolf which in my opinion would suffer in functionality a bit.

Exactly, we have to make sure we don't hurt legitimate users.

Cg

Could be great if each user could set his own minimum level personaly, for each "huge-whale" SPAMer. Depending on how bad that spamer behaves.

smart idea this one meno.

thank you Roeland... :)

Actually @meno, I've just thought, would that effect the transfers out of Steemit to exchanges?

Cg

not really, unless people are just exchanging .10 cents or less which is unlikely.

Most exchanges have a minimum amount they allow for any transaction, and bittrex if im not mistaken is about 5 USD or so.

Cool, that's good. Let's do that then! @meno for President :-)

Your witness is @helpie right?

Cg

Correct my friend :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Really good idea! It sounds like it would be relatively easy to implement as well. Though not sure about the blockchain mechanics.

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86