You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sad, but not yet defeated.

in #hardfork5 years ago

Before HF21 my incentive for spending much time on quality posts for Steem was very low. This has to do with a lot of factors, including that my audience isn't here and that those I've tried to onboard either don't get the Steem platform or get discouraged quickly. Usability and an impoverished markdown system also makes technical posts rather difficult. When I really put a lot of effort into a post (sometimes days) and happened to pick up a big group of curators, I sometimes got a decent payout, though way below minimum wage. If I actually got decent engagement and discussion, that would be ok, but the audience for technical posts is not on steemit. They are on twitter, github, medium, etc. After I while I realized that it was best to spend as little time as possible on Steem posts--a very simple post might not make much, but it also doesn't cost much to do, so RTI is better. The message from HF21 is clear: spend even less time on quality posts. I could be wrong, but my guess is that those with large stakes will figure out how to game HF21 to keep things as close to business as usual as possible. So what should we have instead? How about one account per human with all human posting and curation? All votes worth the same, but those with larger stakes can vote on more posts? The current system devalues users who don't have large stakes when we should be rewarding smart users (authors and providers) instead.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66