You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now you can see the numbers.

in #hardfork5 years ago

Cool analysis.
We have to keep in mind that currently many users behave the way they do to maximize author rewards. Once people start behaving differently to maximize curation rewards or at least balance between author and curator, it will change a little more.
Also, there are rewards from using bots or delegating to them that are just too difficult to analyze which will be impacted.
Personally I think 2e12 regressive reward curve is the worst change because that only benefits huge payouts.

Atleast with curators technically they are choosing to give me 50% of their rewards via votes. They ain't taking anything from me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I can't give any more curation than I'm.giving. I'm already currently giving more than I'm supposed to.

I'd rather not post than have more be taken from me by people who are doing nothing more than what they were before, and earning double the rewards (from my own pocket)

I'll just spend my time curating and upvote my own comments, I guess.

Yes I will make less, but so be it. The principle is more fair than the alternative.

If investors want to make money, let them post instead of taking from small accounts to line their own pockets.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it is just a matter of perspective. Your post is worth 0 until someone decides otherwise.

I have always been in favor of a curation slider, but I would set it to at least 50%. I don't mind giving back more to my supporters since it is their vote. They could always go vote for someone else.
There is way to much mediocre content here that seems to only have a function of getting rewards for vote trading or other self voting services. It is cool and makes sense for the people doing it, but it doesn't really add value for anyone not involved.
There are exceptions, but I think we need to discourage selfish behavior and I see increased curation rewards as a safer way of accomplishing this. Technically you can still get it all back if you trade.

I'm an investor, but as and investor I don't want more Steem I want the market price increase. As a posts I want my posts to earn more Steem. As someone with Steem power Inwamt to increase my curation.

Few people have a single goal. I hope we see better content and not the same boring posts or authors constany. I'm doing very well umder the current system, but I also.see how it is unsustainable.
How long can Steem remain in the top 100? Some of the altcoins ahead of it are a joke....what does that say about Steem?

Posted using Partiko Android

I like the sound of that curation Slider.
It's an interesting perspective.
I'd love to see it implemented.
IF people chose to be altruistic, great, if not, we can't judge the reason why, maybe they have legit reasons?

You're very right.

People set the value of your posts and that is thanks to curation. Absolutely right.

However as I stated somewhere in another comment hahaha..it takes me MUCH longer to write my original content than it does to curate that same type of post.

Honestly? Curators don't even have to read. they can just click and vote.

I don't have a problem with rewarding curators with part of the rewards...but as you can see in the chart... It's pretty skewed.

Rich get richer. End of story.

(As far as the same boring content... You should read the story that I wrote exclusively for Steemit... Hehe. It not boring...and got a LOT of steemians very excited for more. I'm currently releasing bits of the sequel daily... Also exclusively for Steemit.)

I suspect for the most part your ideas are correct. I'm just trying to e optimistic now that it seems inevitavoe to pass HF21.

I'm definitely going to check out more of your work.

I do hope this change has the desired effect to reward good content rather than bad content. However its much easier for bad actors to exploit loopholes and just start over if they do something unacceptable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I can tell you how I will behave.

Less content. More curation

And I can't wait to TRACK how much more money the whales will be making over time.

Every month I'll go into steemworld to show the last 30 days of activity on the same accounts.from my chart (and more!) To show the people EXACTLY where their money went to after these changes are implemented.

When people talk about "oh ...it will eventually be an equilibrium"... you know what they mean?

They mean ...eventually, the people who leave will take all prior knowledge with them and we will only be left with the ones who don't know any better.

But numbers don't lie. And the blockchain is forever.

Posted using Partiko Android

do you actually believe any substantial change in behaviour is going to happen? I don't. Currently I read and upvote content as much as I can. I rarely ever bother with being concerned if my timing is good for curation rewards... i'm merely supporting others and if some curation happens great. That is not going to change. Others have a list of people they auto upvote and rarely look at the list as long as they get rewards. now they will get more by default. Then there is the whale who has been vocal about this change so he could get some more Steem and invest more in curation bots. That is not actually seeking good content that is sending a bot out to upvote on autopilot

There will be a little change. Those who change will benefit and those who don't will fall further behind. For now I make between 1 and 1.5 Steem / 1000 SP in a week of curating and I selfvote which tends to be most profitable.
I hope that atleast doubles, but I imagine it will triple. It may affect profitability from other ways, but it's going to be hard to isolate with the SPS and new curve coming in as well.

Yeah, hard to isolate.

It's almost like someone should suggest to make changes separately so we could see what actually worked and what didn't

Huh

Someone should really do that.

😂

As far as self voting being the most profitable option.... I agree....I think that is where more people are heading.

Most people dont upvote their own comments, but... Think about it..
If they do..they get all the author rewards and all the curation rewards.

Well....unless the downvote police come and express their disapproval for people trying to earn what was taken away

Seems like they're setting up a system for people to do exactly what they DONT want to happen

When they see this happening, they'll probably punish every one a little more! Lol

Bad little money-grubbing Steemians!!! We want you to do it THIS way. Why won't you obey?!?! Hehehe

(Im laughing cuz it's better than the alternative)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82