You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Happynewyear - Contest - Exciting entertainment with a prize Fund of 30 Steem

Nice post. I love how you covered the "grandfather" or "santa clause" figure through different countries of origin. I to love read about the overall theme and story of the "holiday season" from various regions throughout the world. Have you come across the evil or "troll" santa historical narrative?

Clip from the film 'Rare Exports'

Through my experiences in historical studies, I've noticed a trend where not so savory l people often somehow become transformed into mythical heroes in the books and folk lore.

In America, the new year and Santa are quite separate. There really is personified figure for the new year here in the States. Santa is father of Christmas or the "holidays/holiday season." I feel as though the entire "season" has been commercialized and transformed into a capitalist driven corporate cash grab. I strive to teach my children to be grateful for their parents and real people in their lives that work hard and sacrifice to provide them with their material needs and pleasures. 🙏🏾

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57